Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Storm™

Reply
New Contributor
OfficeManager68
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-06-2009
My Device: Storm

HOW DO I COPY CONTACTS TO SIM?????

I would appreciate any help. When I go to my contacts there is no option to save to my sim, only to look at what is on my sim-nothing.

Thank you.

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,495
Likes: 22,613
Solutions: 5,825
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: HOW DO I COPY CONTACTS TO SIM?????

Sure there is.  :smileywink:

 

Open your Address Book. 

 

Open a Contact. 

 

Scroll your cursor over a phone number entry.

 

Press Menu > Copy to SIM Phone Book.

 

 




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
OfficeManager68
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-06-2009
My Device: Storm

Re: HOW DO I COPY CONTACTS TO SIM?????

OK thank you very much. :smileyhappy:Now with that being said....can anyone tell me why there is not an option to save your whole address book to your sim?:smileymad:
Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,495
Likes: 22,613
Solutions: 5,825
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: HOW DO I COPY CONTACTS TO SIM?????

Why? I don't know.

 

I suspect that is because it is simply not the way to go. All you can copy is one phone number per contact, at a time. The SIM does not hold addresses, email addresses, etc. Just a painfully limited thing in the first place.

 

Now, if you would share what your end need is, we might be able to help you a bit further. Like, are you changing BlackBerrys, to another phone? You just want your phone numbers in another place as a safetly precaution?




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
OfficeManager68
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-06-2009
My Device: Storm

Re: HOW DO I COPY CONTACTS TO SIM?????

Yes, more as a safety precaution. I sync my phone to my desktop everyday for Outlook Calendar and Contacts so I know it's on that but recently I lost all my personal phone numbers on my personal Motorola ATT phone because it died and I hadn't saved the contacts to the sim. I guess the best thing to do is to set up Outlook on my personal laptop and sync to that so I have it all there as well.

I just think that with the technology we have today and it's 2009, man on the moon, etc... now there should be features on phones that are not there, they make things too complicated and it doesn't have to be. Like for instance sometimes what they call something or where they put it under what menu just doesn't seem user friendly, simple or fast.

I appreciate your help!:smileyhappy:

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,495
Likes: 22,613
Solutions: 5,825
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: HOW DO I COPY CONTACTS TO SIM?????

Do your Outlook sync and take the time to do a backup in Desktop Manager.

 

You won't care a flip about the SIM card if it get's burned or stolen along with the phone, does no you good.

 

Sync and Backup. 




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
mike_coreit
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎01-05-2011
My Device: 8120
My Carrier: Vodaphone

Re: HOW DO I COPY CONTACTS TO SIM?????

Is there a way to extract each phone number and add it to the sim automatically?

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,495
Likes: 22,613
Solutions: 5,825
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: HOW DO I COPY CONTACTS TO SIM?????

Yes, it is a tedious process, but it was explained earlier in this two year old thread.
And, as was also stated further down in the thread, if you'd offer your end-need (are you switching smartphones, just want a backup, what?) there might be a better and simpler, less time-consuming solution.

JSanders wrote:

Sure there is.  :smileywink:

 

Open your Address Book. 

 

Open a Contact. 

 

Scroll your cursor over a phone number entry.

 

Press Menu > Copy to SIM Phone Book.

 

 


 




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
mike_coreit
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎01-05-2011
My Device: 8120
My Carrier: Vodaphone

Re: HOW DO I COPY CONTACTS TO SIM?????

I don't see anything about it being automatic and only involving sim contacts, it seems to go off topic a bit.

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,495
Likes: 22,613
Solutions: 5,825
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: HOW DO I COPY CONTACTS TO SIM?????


mike_coreit wrote:

I don't see anything about it being automatic and only involving sim contacts, it seems to go off topic a bit.


In that case, no it is not automatic.

 

And I don't know what you mean by "only involving sim contacts"...  what else are looking for?

SIM cards allow ONLY one number per name on the SIM card.

 

Perhaps I am misunderstanding what it is you need... and that's one reason I asked you what your "end need" is for this. There might be a better solution if I knew what you were doing with the data. (that's also up there in what you refer to the "off topic" stuff. :smileywink:  )




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.