Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Storm™

New Contributor
daveben00
My Device: Storm - 9530

MAJOR Storm problems - please help

I've been waiting a long time to enter the blackberry world and have been pulling for the Storm to be a good competitor for the iphone, especially since I would never consider changing from verizon to AT&T service here in New York. With this being my first berry, I was hoping all the negative reviews were overexaggerated, yet I have had numerous problems with basic functionality that I assumed would not be issues with the blackberry brand. 

I'm a pretty tech savvy guy, working at a video game company so these problems are not arising from a lack of technical knowledge (at least I don't think so).  Please take a look at this list of problems below and let me know if you can help solve them!!!  Feel free to answer one or all :smileyhappy:

1.   My blackberry desktop manager software does not provide me with any email synch option.  I have seen images of other BB desktop software versions that had this option but mine (version 4.7) does not.  I installed the version that came with the physical disk, then uninstalled it and downloaded it from BB's website thinking that might help.  Both lacked any option for manipulating or generally interacting with email settings/account directly on my desktop.  Am I crazy or is there supposed to be an option that allows you to synch email accounts and modify general email settings from the BB software on your desktop?  Is there a better version I should download or a different program that is more reliable?