Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Storm™

Contributor
My Device: Storm 9530
Accepted Solution

Memory

Hi All, I'm a new BB user and have a Verizon Storm. I've noticed something if you go under Options - Memory - then look at Application Memory Free space it starts out at almost 40 MB then slowly drops to as low as 3 MB.

The free memory appears to drop the longer it is on and the only way i've found to get the free memory back to almost 40 MB is to pull the battery for a few minutes and watch it reload with a white screen.

I've tried the memory cleaner application and only seen minor improvments of a few KB.

I'm hoping this is a setting I have wrong because i'm new to Black Berry and not a memory leak in the OS or other application

Guru I
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: Memory

Hi and welcome to the forums!

Try the optimizing device performance tips on page 200.

Thanks,

Please remember to resolve your thread. Put the check mark in the green box that contained your answer! Thanks 

http://na.blackberry.com/eng/deliverables/4532/userguide_0x06001404_umts.pdf

Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

Contributor

Hi Bifocals,

i have completed the items listed and no help. thanks

I did complete the web update for the verizon phones this morning, will have to see if that helps.

Guru I
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Hi,

Thanks for the update!

Please let me know how it goes.

Thanks,

Bifocals

P.S. Even a person wearing BIFOCALS could not miss that message  :smileywink: