Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Storm™

Reply
JSanders
Posts: 86,395
Likes: 23,176
Solutions: 5,979
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: cannot dial


bbasner wrote:

Thank you

1Can you please explain what you mean by :You won't get 3G service, it's slow

The 9550 Storm does not have the bands which ATT 3G is broadcast on. You will get 2G, or EDGE, at the best.

 

2 How can I deal with the greyed Back Up option on the the DeskTop Mnager?

Do a search of your PC for that same file, search for any "*.ipd" files. Find the one you have greyed out.

Is it of any size?

If you have the Desktop Software open > Device > Restore, can you select this file now?

 




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
bbasner
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎03-22-2012
My Device: Storm 2 9550

Re: cannot dial

Downloaded twice  v5 OS , it can`t RUN ,error ;  error reading setup initiazation file

Contributor
bbasner
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎03-22-2012
My Device: Storm 2 9550

Re: cannot dial

my search yields nothing. I tried *.doc which yields over 600 items. tried *.ipd twice no matches

Contributor
bbasner
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎03-22-2012
My Device: Storm 2 9550

Re: cannot dial

Sorry, I should have mentioned that the following options are gray:

Sync All,Back up ,Restore,Delete Data,Delete Option,Delete Properties

 

Contributor
bbasner
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎03-22-2012
My Device: Storm 2 9550

Re: cannot dial

I just went to the RIM files manually. There are no .ipd files there

JSanders
Posts: 86,395
Likes: 23,176
Solutions: 5,979
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: cannot dial


bbasner wrote:

Sorry, I should have mentioned that the following options are gray:

Sync All,Back up ,Restore,Delete Data,Delete Option,Delete Properties

 


That's much helpful to know. In the bottom corner of the Desktop Software, is your PIN number present?

Does it say "Connected"?

 

IF you have a backup file, and it's beginning to sound like you don't, it is by default stored in your My Documents folder, but doesn't have to be.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
bbasner
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎03-22-2012
My Device: Storm 2 9550

Re: cannot dial

PIN # does appear in the middle of page

But since your reply, my attempt to connect the phone is yielding a long unending attempt to connect

and the Device Menue has everything  gray except Sync All in which both subcategories are gray

only Exit it white and clicking it leads to an unending attempt to Exit. Only unplugging the USB closes it

JSanders
Posts: 86,395
Likes: 23,176
Solutions: 5,979
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: cannot dial


bbasner wrote:

PIN # does appear in the middle of page


Ok, that's good.

On the main screen, you can't select "Back up now"?, that is in grey as well?




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
bbasner
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎03-22-2012
My Device: Storm 2 9550

Re: cannot dial

Yes  the Back up now and Device options are gray

Also when the system is intending to connect ,  on the phone there are the desktop and phone icons,but  there is no white line connecting them

 

By pressing the go back icon ,the error message disappeared, but then all the icons were frozen.

JSanders
Posts: 86,395
Likes: 23,176
Solutions: 5,979
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: cannot dial

What version of the Desktop Software are you using?




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code