Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Storm™

Contributor
My Device: Not Specified

"In Holster Only?" Faulty ringtone/message alerts

I'm new to Blackberrys, so please forgive me if this sounds like a dumb question, but what does "In Holster Only" mean? Knowing this might help my problem below:

I am frustrated because I set my universal ringtone to a song (in "sounds - set ring tones/alerts - phone"), yet when people would call me, it would still use the default ringer that was set when I bought the phone. Grr! So, I went through and edited, one by one, all of my contacts so that their ringer would be the song I supposedly set for ALL calls. Despite the fact that this was a long and tedious process, the problem I have now is when I set my phone to "vibrate only" (when I'm at work, or in a movie or church), when any of those people call me, my phone still rings - even though I have it set to vibrate. !!!

How do I fix this? Does changing anything to "In Holster Only" make a difference (whatever that is?). 

Solutions: 6,154
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: "In Holster Only?" Faulty ringtone/message alerts

IN HOLSTER allows you to set another separate setting while the BB is IN its holster.

This is a holster, it should (or one similar) have come in the box with your BB.

1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes

Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor