If you are using Internet Explorer, please remove blackberry.com from your compatibility view settings.

Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry Themes & Animated Graphics

Developer
Pootermobile
My Device: BlackBerry 9900
My Carrier: AT&T

Looking Ahead: Theme Studio for OS7 and QNX

Hello fellow developers and RIM moderators,

My name is L. Marco Miranda and I am a BlackBerry theme developer known on the web as Pootermobile. I am here asking RIM to please update Theme Studio for BlackBerry OS7 devices. I know that RIM has their hands full with OS7 and QNX application development but themes need to also be addressed.

As an avid BlackBerry theme developer and user themes have been a huge part of my love for the platform. No other platform out there can be natively themed like a BlackBerry can. So many people share my love for themes as well.

I hope Theme Studio for OS7 is being worked on as I type and I'm pretty sure it will be released sooner or later. What has me looking ahead, and worried, is QNX. Although I know QNX will be a huge inprovement for the BlackBerry platform I can't help but feel something at the pit of my stomach thinking about the future of BlackBerry themes. About a year ago a moderator helped me make a petition for themes for the PlayBook and here we are with no themes for the PlayBook. With QNX coming for BlackBerry handhelds will we face the same fate as the PlayBook? Will theme developers be out of a job and income?

I am not too worried about themes on OS7 as I know they will come but what I would like is if a moderator started a petition to have themes for the QNX platform for BlackBerry handhelds. And for my fellow theme developers please support this petition if you would love to have themes on your QNX SuperPhone!

Thanks for reading and keep being awesome.

- Pootermobile