Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Torch™

Reply
New Contributor
Twosheds
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-12-2013
My Device: 9810 Torch
My Carrier: Virgin Mobile
Accepted Solution

9810 Torch Software Update Lock-up

This 9810 was doing a wireless software update and got as far as 19% overall back-up (Social Feeds) when it locked-up - it was left running overnight with no change. Switching the phone off and on returns it to the same point; removing and replacing the battery automatically starts the update process again, until it gets to 19% and locks up again. ALT and CAPS key toggle on the screen when pressed.

Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 47,704
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: 9810 Torch Software Update Lock-up

Hi and Welcome to the Community!

(Credit JSanders)

There are two methods of recovery for you to try:

Method One:

  • Open the Blackberry Desktop Software & Connect your device to your PC using the OEM USB cable, and without inserting battery.
  • You will get three options: Retry, Update Or Cancel; click on update.
  • Once it is to the stage of "initializing handheld", insert the battery.
  • If this does not work, and you remain stuck on the backing up the Social Feeds database, go to the second method below.

Method Two:

  • Start your BlackBerry in Safe mode. KB17877 How to start a BlackBerry smartphone in Safe Mode
  • Connect to the BlackBerry Desktop Software and allow your handheld to connect. If you are prompted to upgrade, cancel the upgrade for later.
  • IF you cannot connect or your Desktop Software does not recognize your device while in Safe Mode, please follow the directions here to force the detect:  Article ID: KB10144 How to force the detection of the BlackBerry smartphone using Application Loader
  • Go to Device > delete > SELECT DATA > select to delete both the Social Feeds and Smart Card databases, and follow the remaining prompts to complete it. 
  • Now, you can return and click to upgrade the device through the Desktop Manager, or reboot the BlackBerry in normal mode and continue the over the air upgrade.

Good luck and let us know!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Twosheds
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-12-2013
My Device: 9810 Torch
My Carrier: Virgin Mobile

Re: 9810 Torch Software Update Lock-up

Hi - thanks for the welcome and the info. Unfortunately, neither method have worked - after attemting the first method the ' initializing handheld' message didn't appear, just a battery symbol with a red cross through it. The phone now displays Error 507 Reload Software, and will not start in Safe Mode...

Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 47,704
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: 9810 Torch Software Update Lock-up

Oh no...now you have a more catastrophic problem...507 means that everything is gone from your BB -- the OS, your apps, your data, everything. So, first we need to recover the functionality of your BB, and then you will need to restore from your most recent backup.

 



The simplest way is to, on a PC (you cannot do this on MAC):

1) Make sure you have a current and complete backup of your BB...you can find complete instructions via the link in my auto-sig below. (moot in your situation, since you can't take one now)

2) Uninstall, from your PC, any BB OS packages

3) Make sure you have the BB Desktop Software already installed

4) Download and install, to your PC, the BB OS package you desire:

  • http://us.blackberry.com/support/downloads/download_sites.jsp
  • It is sorted first by carrier -- so if all you want are the OS levels your carrier supports, your search will be quick. However, some carriers are much slower than others to release updates. To truly seek out the most up-to-date OS package for your BB, you must dig through and find all carriers that support your specific model BB, and then compare the OS levels that they support.

5) Delete, on your PC, all copies of VENDOR.XML...there will be at least one, and perhaps 2, and they will be located in or similarly to (it changes based on your Windows version) these folders:

  • C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader
  • C:\Users\(your Windows UserName)\AppData\Roaming\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\Loader XML

6a) For changing your installed BB OS level (upgrade or downgrade), you can launch the Desktop Software and connect your BB...the software should offer you the OS package you installed to your PC.

6b) Or, for reloading your currently installed BB OS level as well as for changing it, bypass the Desktop Software and use LOADER.EXE directly, by proceeding to step 2 in this process:

If, during the processes of 6a or 6b, your BB presents a "507" error, simply unplug the USB cord from the BB and re-insert it...don't do anything else...this should allow the install to continue.

 



You may also need the use of these tricks, but please substitute 6a or 6b above if any instruct you to use a website:



If you are on MAC, you are limited to only your carriers sanctioned OS packages...but can still use any levels that they currently sanction. See this procedure:

  • KB19915How to perform a clean reload of BlackBerry smartphone application software using BlackBerry Desktop Software

Good luck and let us know!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Twosheds
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-12-2013
My Device: 9810 Torch
My Carrier: Virgin Mobile

Re: 9810 Torch Software Update Lock-up

Yup, that fixed it. Thanks for your help.
Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 47,704
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: 9810 Torch Software Update Lock-up

You are welcome...cheers!

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
luffy54
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-22-2013
My Device: no
My Carrier: foreign

Re: 9810 Torch Software Update Lock-up

[ Edited ]

good solution, thanks you

 

 

 

-----------------------------

samsung galaxy note 3 iphone 5s

Please use plain text.