If you are using Internet Explorer, please remove blackberry.com from your compatibility view settings.

Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Torch™

Reply
New Contributor
fishwater99
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-20-2009
My Device: 9810 & PlayBook
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: 9810 torch the screen constantly freezes or has the little black square with the dial going around like its updating

I've been having the same issue for a few weeks now. I just followed your instructions and cleared my event log. I saw some apps running game that I don't need nor do I use. I'll delete those now. Possibly after monitoring this logfile a few days along with my device's behavior, the problem may go away. I'll post an update. 

 

Thanks

MW

Mark it 8 Dude.
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
fishwater99
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-20-2009
My Device: 9810 & PlayBook
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: 9810 torch the screen constantly freezes or has the little black square with the dial going around like its updating

So monitored the logfile for awhile and got rid of the apps that were unnecessary. Seemed to do the trick until I went out of town. Then the device started freezing again. It's taking 15 minutes to boot sometimes.

Went to ATT today and they agree something is wrong. Hopefully getting a new phone. Prob now is I can't even back it up. It's freezing on that now.

 

 

Mark it 8 Dude.
Please use plain text.
New Member
dmiller219
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-19-2012
My Device: torch 9810
My Carrier: at&t

Re: 9810 torch the screen constantly freezes or has the little black square with the dial going around like its updating

no doesn't work
Please use plain text.
Forums Advisor I
chaosdivine
Posts: 510
Registered: ‎09-16-2012
My Device: BB PlayBook (32 GB Wi-Fi OS 2.1.0.1314) and Torch 9810 (OS 7.1.0.746)

Re: 9810 torch the screen constantly freezes or has the little black square with the dial going around like its updating

Question: Are you using the official OS release for your carrier? Or are you using a release of an OS version from another carrier?

 

The reason I ask is that I have a 9810 myself and my carrier was taking forever to release their approved verison of the 7.1 update and I really wanted the hotspot feature that 7.1 provided. Long story short, I loaded another carrier's release on my phone because I wasn't interested in being patient at the time and got bad screen lag issues and hourglasses like you did. It made the phone unusable. Anyhow, I reverted to my official carrier release OS in the meantime and waited for the official release. Eventually, my carrier did release an approved 7.1 update and I updated to it and all my problems went away and have not returned since. The phone has worked better than ever and my battery has lasted much longer too.

 

So my question comes as a result of my own experience. Just curious...that's all.

Please use plain text.
New Member
Dr-Ray
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-19-2012
My Device: 9860
My Carrier: BTC

Re: 9860 torch touch screen constantly freezes, run me hot. updated it and all my bum contacts gone.... quick fix

hi 

i have a 9860, if i open a text or bbm and try close it, the screen does not move. if i try answer a call it would not answer or if i try hang up it does not hang up, updated it and it still does the same thing, lost all my bbm contact hpw do i get them back

 

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
dideyo
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-09-2011
My Device: torch 9860
My Carrier: kpn

Re: 9860 torch touch screen constantly freezes, run me hot. updated it and all my bum contacts gone.... quick fix

9860 Freeze solution

U have to change the casing around the phone (mostly silverlined, surrounds the front). That is a problem all the 9860 have, it is an error off fabric. In the casing there is lots of wiring and stuff that get damaged quickly.They (blackberry/phone provider) don't tell the world/you that because it's too expensive to replace them all, if even possible.

 

after changing the casing ur problems will be solved, but it doesn't take long (3-6 months) to get damaged again. :mansad:

Please use plain text.
Forums Advisor I
chaosdivine
Posts: 510
Registered: ‎09-16-2012
My Device: BB PlayBook (32 GB Wi-Fi OS 2.1.0.1314) and Torch 9810 (OS 7.1.0.746)

Re: 9860 torch touch screen constantly freezes, run me hot. updated it and all my bum contacts gone.... quick fix


dideyo wrote:

9860 Freeze solution

U have to change the casing around the phone (mostly silverlined, surrounds the front). That is a problem all the 9860 have, it is an error off fabric. In the casing there is lots of wiring and stuff that get damaged quickly.They (blackberry/phone provider) don't tell the world/you that because it's too expensive to replace them all, if even possible.

 

after changing the casing ur problems will be solved, but it doesn't take long (3-6 months) to get damaged again. :mansad:


This thread was about the 9810 originally.

 

Please use plain text.
Visitor
kayyakkayyak
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-04-2013
My Device: torch 9810
My Carrier: MTS

Re: 9810 torch the screen constantly freezes or has the little black square with the dial going around like its updating

[ Edited ]

I did all this too, did not work. I gave it a reason to freeze up and threw it in the freezer and forgot about it. Three hours later i removed my phone from the freezer and it hasnt froze up again since.            :Clap:

Please use plain text.
New Member
ThiyaReddy
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-04-2014
My Device: 9810
My Carrier: Maxis

Re: 9810 torch the screen constantly freezes or has the little black square with the dial going around like its updating

Hi peeps.

 

Im an ardent BB 9810 user and i love my phone..

It almost completing its 2 year cycle in about 2 weeks now.

 

Off coz ive have also gone the hang over of the phone, downloading sign all the time off and on.

But this time...after i have accidently clicked cluster file...its totally jammed up and hung up for the last 24 hours.

I have done rebooting ....removing the battery couple of time...but its not completing its downloading by 20% to upload and its happening several times :smileysad:

Therefore, ive to bring him to see the Phone specialist...

 

Can this be solved?

 

 

Please assist...

 

 

Thanx you...

Thiya

Please use plain text.