Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Torch™

Reply
Developer
pwerry
Posts: 177
Registered: ‎01-21-2009
My Device: 9900
My Carrier: Vodafone

Copy contacts from 8330 to 9800

Hi folks,

 

Using DM6, I attempted to backup the address book database on the 8330 and restore it to the 9800 but it doesn't seem to work. Any hints?

Please use plain text.
Guru I
John_Clark
Posts: 15,004
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.0.1052; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: at&t

Re: Copy contacts from 8330 to 9800

Can you be a little more specific on what exactly happens?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
Please use plain text.
New Member
danflo
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-15-2010
My Device: blackberry 9800
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Copy contacts from 8330 to 9800

Im having the same problem, mine might be a little more complicated. I use to have a 8330 with telus (keep in mind they dont use sim cards) and now i bought a 9800 with rogers. i was able to transfer everything with BB6.0 software except my contact list? i"ve spent 4 hrs trying to figure this out. prob could of did it manually in 2 hours.

Please use plain text.
Guru I
John_Clark
Posts: 15,004
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.0.1052; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: at&t

Re: Copy contacts from 8330 to 9800

Again, can you be more specific? What exactly are you doing? Is there an error?
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
Please use plain text.
Forums Veteran I
Boomer56
Posts: 2,090
Registered: ‎11-09-2010
My Device: BlackBerry 9900
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Copy contacts from 8330 to 9800

If you use the Switch Device Wizard in Desktop Manager, you would transfer EVERYTHING from one device to the other.

 

Way easier than backing up from one device and restoring to the other. :smileyhappy:

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
*** If I've been helpful please consider clicking the LIKE BUTTON beneath my post.
*** Please remember to mark your thread as "Resolved" by clicking on OPTIONS to the right of the post and selecting "Accepted Solution."
Please use plain text.
Guru I
John_Clark
Posts: 15,004
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.0.1052; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: at&t

Re: Copy contacts from 8330 to 9800

But don't transfer 3rd party apps from one type of device to another. The app versions on your 8330 will most likely be different than the versions for the Torch and you could have issues with apps or, worse, app errors that prevent the device from rebooting. But the switch device wizard is defintely the way to go.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
Please use plain text.