Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Torch™

New Contributor
Gerardmeni
My Device: Blackberry Touch 9860

Design Disaster of Touch 9860.

As a Mechanical Engineering student, I was taught about the importance of ‘Quality and Reliabilty’ in Manufacturing Industries. Sadly I don’t think this is taken as a top priority in Blackberry (or RIM). I purchased my first blackberry device, Touch 9860 (Touch 3) in September, 2012 for $390. My experience has been awful!

How can engineers in Blackberry design a phone with camera shutter button, volume and mute side buttons perpetually unreachable and difficult to use?

How can engineers in Blackberry design a phone heavily dependent on data access and services with a poor 1230mAh battery that barely last for 6 hours without recharge?

How can they design a phone with an Operating system (OS 7 and 0S 7.1) that always hangs annoyingly (even in situations where the phone is needed most to do its basic job, make calls, send messages or search the internet)? A phone that is quick to display a white screen and perpetually reloading?

How can they design an app, ‘Application Resource Monitor’ that did more harm than good! Killing my productivity with JVM errors, resets and exits!

What business do I have with troubleshooting my phone, reloading, taking out the battery (this is most annoying!), restoring….ohhh the list goes on!

What were Blackberry Engineers doing? What were they innovating? What were they being paid for? Where they blind to innovations in Nokia, Apple, HTC and Samsung?

Now my touch 3 is unusable just after a year of use and purchased from a reliable store.  I cannot even resell it….ohh Blackbery, such a fine name, logo, messaging service, but a failed hardware and software design team headed by myopic CEOs (founders Basillie and Mike.)