Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Torch™

New Contributor
Lyndall
My Device: Blackberry Torch
My Carrier: MTN
Accepted Solution

Don't want new email alert icon on home screen

Hi

I'm new to BB and have a Torch. I've connected my work e-mail to my BB using BES, but don't want to see the new mail icon on my phone when there's a new mail on my home screen. I've googled and the following extract from the user guide doesn't work for me:

Hide the new or unopened message indicator

1. On the Home screen, click the Messages icon

2. Press the BB key > Options > Message Display and Actions

• To hide the new message indicator, clear the Display New Message Indicator check box.

• To hide the unopened message indicator, change the Display Message Count field to None

3. Press the SAVE key >

I have changed the "count" to "none", but don't have the "Display New Message Indicator" in my menu.

PLEASE HELP!!!

Lyndall

Please use plain text.
Forums Veteran I
Boomer56
My Device: BlackBerry 9900
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Don't want new email alert icon on home screen

[ Edited ]

When you change the "Display Message Count" to None, the "Display New Message Indicator" Option is no longer available.

You have to change it back to Unread in order to uncheck that box.

The two settings work hand in hand, so by unchecking that box, the message count will also no longer be displayed.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
*** If I've been helpful please consider clicking the LIKE BUTTON beneath my post.
*** Please remember to mark your thread as "Resolved" by clicking on OPTIONS to the right of the post and selecting "Accepted Solution."
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Lyndall