Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Torch™

Reply
Contributor
barney_bloggs
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎04-04-2013
My Device: Support various models and 1 brick
My Carrier: Various
Accepted Solution

Is my 9800 locked to O2

Hi all,

Ive been looking around the internet for the answer to this but dont have solid proof that my phone is now free to connect to other networks. Any help or advice would be fantastic. O2 cant/wont help as I cannot give them a valid O2 mobile number (the device doesnt have a SIM in it, because we have multiple Blackberries and users and we re-use devices when somebody leaves. However, SIM cards get taken out and we lose track of who last used it or what network they were on/ there mobile number).

Anyhow if I browse to Options --> Device --> Advanced System Settings --> SIM card  I see "SIM Card: No Valid SIM Card", which I expected because there is no SIM. Underneath that I see Identity And Associations, and then there is nothing. The only reason I know this phone was once associated with the O2 network is that i see an O2 splashscreen when the device turns off.

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 85,166
Likes: 23,028
Solutions: 5,925
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Is my 9800 locked to O2


barney_bloggs wrote:

Hi all,

I know this phone was once associated with the O2 network is that i see an O2 splashscreen when the device turns off.


That's because the device was sold by and branded to O2.

 

Check my link #4 below to view the correct unlock settings as it should appear if your device is truly unlocked. You will need to place a SIM card in.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
barney_bloggs
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎04-04-2013
My Device: Support various models and 1 brick
My Carrier: Various

Re: Is my 9800 locked to O2

Hi Thanks for the links. Sorry but not used to your terminology. When you say "Universal Search" in your linked item, I take it you mean click on the magnifying glass icon on the homescree? If so, these steps lead me to the scenario in my opening post.

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 85,166
Likes: 23,028
Solutions: 5,925
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Is my 9800 locked to O2


barney_bloggs wrote:

Hi Thanks for the links. Sorry but not used to your terminology. When you say "Universal Search" in your linked item, I take it you mean click on the magnifying glass icon on the homescree? If so, these steps lead me to the scenario in my opening post.


Ok, and then did you complete the remainder of the instrucitons...

 

Instructions for OS 6.0 & 7.0/7.1
Type Sim Card in UNIVERSAL SEARCH. That will bring up the Sim Card menu. Open that menu then Check and see what locks are active by:
type mepd
(You won't see anything as you type)
A hidden menu will open up and will say what locks are active.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
barney_bloggs
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎04-04-2013
My Device: Support various models and 1 brick
My Carrier: Various

Re: Is my 9800 locked to O2

Hi JSanders,

Sorry didnt realise that characters didnt appear when typing heres what I get:-

Personlaisation:

SIMDisabled

NetworkActive

Network SubsetDisabled

Service ProviderDisabled

CoprporateDisabled

 

So based on what I read on the internet before posting here, this would suggest the phone is not locked and can be used on a network other than O2, is this correct?

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 85,166
Likes: 23,028
Solutions: 5,925
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Is my 9800 locked to O2


barney_bloggs wrote:

Hi JSanders,

Sorry didnt realise that characters didnt appear when typing heres what I get:-

Personlaisation:

SIMDisabled

NetworkActive

Network SubsetDisabled

Service ProviderDisabled

CoprporateDisabled

 

So based on what I read on the internet before posting here, this would suggest the phone is not locked and can be used on a network other than O2, is this correct?


Your device is indeed locked to the branded provider.

If you wish to unlock, you follow the same link instructions, that's a trusted and reputable unlock vendor.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
barney_bloggs
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎04-04-2013
My Device: Support various models and 1 brick
My Carrier: Various

Re: Is my 9800 locked to O2

I also have an 8520 running v5.0.0.681 OS and when I type mepd into that phone nothing happens at all and no hidden menu gets displayed. Any ideas?

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 85,166
Likes: 23,028
Solutions: 5,925
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Is my 9800 locked to O2


barney_bloggs wrote:

I also have an 8520 running v5.0.0.681 OS and when I type mepd into that phone nothing happens at all and no hidden menu gets displayed. Any ideas?


Does it have a SIM card in it?




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
barney_bloggs
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎04-04-2013
My Device: Support various models and 1 brick
My Carrier: Various

Re: Is my 9800 locked to O2

No, theres no SIM card in it.

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 85,166
Likes: 23,028
Solutions: 5,925
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Is my 9800 locked to O2

Place on it, it doesn't even need to be a working or good SIM card. Just put an old one in.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.