Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Torch™

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-13-2013
My Device: Torch 9810
My Carrier: at&t

My Torch 9810 won't reboot completely after security whipe

i started a security whipe on my torch 9810 but it was taking forever, i did a battery pull and after rebooting it completed the security whipe. However umpon completiong of the security whipe it starts to load and stop 3/4 of the way. i did battery pulls several times but that however did not change anything. can someone help me please

Contributor
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎01-13-2013
My Device: curve 9320
My Carrier: tesco

Re: My Torch 9810 won't reboot completely after security whipe

how long has it been like this? i would just leave it for as long as possible to try and let it load

New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-13-2013
My Device: Torch 9810
My Carrier: at&t

Re: My Torch 9810 won't reboot completely after security whipe

For the entire night last night
Contributor
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎01-13-2013
My Device: curve 9320
My Carrier: tesco

Re: My Torch 9810 won't reboot completely after security whipe

o i would contact blackberry or you network!

Guru II
Posts: 19,349
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.1.2582; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: My Torch 9810 won't reboot completely after security whipe

Try this:

Remove the battery.

While holding down the back key, reinsert the battery. Continue to hold the back key for another 20 seconds after the device begins to boot. You can release the back key after that.

That will boot the device in safe mode. Does it boot up into safe mode?
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-13-2013
My Device: Torch 9810
My Carrier: at&t

Re: My Torch 9810 won't reboot completely after security whipe

I have beeb trying to boot it in safe mode but not working
Guru III
Posts: 31,431
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: My Torch 9810 won't reboot completely after security whipe

Are you able to restart your device in safe mode as shown in KB17877?

 

 

 

I assume, since it's caught in a reboot cycle, when you connect to the Desktop Software it doesn't take a stable connection to reinstall your software?

 

 

 

If that is case, remove your battery and keep it out when you connect to the Desktop Software. You will get a pop up that the device can't connect and there should be Retry, Update and Cancel buttons. Select Update and you will then be able to reinstall the current device software version.

 

 

 

When the load is progressing, you will see a step that says "Wait for device initialization". At this point, insert the battery and the reload should complete.

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


Guru II
Posts: 19,349
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.1.2582; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: My Torch 9810 won't reboot completely after security whipe

[ Edited ]

You may need to revert to wiping the device completely and reloading the OS from scratch.  Here are some instructions.

 

1. First locate your carrier and the OS file you wish to use.

http://na.blackberry.com/eng/support/downloads/download_sites.jsp

2. Download the OS file from step 1 to the PC then install it to the PC by running (double clicking) the file you downloaded.

3. Go to c:\program files\common files\research in motion\apploader and delete the file named "vendor.xml." Also check the following locations for vendor.xml files and delete any instances of the file:

On Windows Vista/7 navigate to C:\Users\YOUR_USER\AppData\Roaming\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\Loader XML (Where "YOUR_USER" is your username)

On Windows XP navigate to C:\Documents and Settings\YOUR_USER\Application Data\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\Loader XML (Where "YOUR_USER" is your username)

4. Use BBSAK from BBSAK.org and wipe the device then after you get the error 507 (no OS installed) then proceed to next step.

5. Plug in BlackBerry and double click on "Loader.exe." It's located in c:\program files\common files\research in motion\apploader

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-13-2013
My Device: Torch 9810
My Carrier: at&t

Re: My Torch 9810 won't reboot completely after security whipe

Its installing updates, I reallly hope this works
Guru II
Posts: 19,349
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.1.2582; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: My Torch 9810 won't reboot completely after security whipe

Either method, mine or Knotty's should do the trick for ya.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!