Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Torch™

Reply
Contributor
westernmeadow
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎12-26-2011
My Device: Blackberry Bold 9900

My Torch 9860 won't boot!

My torch 9860 doesn't boot completely anymore and for that reason, I haven't been able to use it for a long time now. The booting bar loads and gets to somewhere near the end and hooks there after which it never moves again! I've left it booting for over a day and it still didn't boot! I've reloaded the OS severally, even done a downgrade to 7.0 but still, no success. Please, I need help with this. Thank You.
Developer
Wiki_Berry
Posts: 539
Registered: ‎11-09-2012
My Device: BlackBerry Z10

Re: My Torch 9860 won't boot!

does it get stuck at the "E" when BLACKBERRY Appears?
i'm not really sure either
If you have an answer to your question then please click “Accept as Solution”
Click on the LIKE on the bottom right if the post deserves credit.
BB 8700 -> Bold 9000 -> Curve 8520 -> Bold 9700 -> Curve 9320 -> Bold 9900 -> BlackBerry Z10 + PlayBook 64 GB Wi-Fi
JSanders
Posts: 86,468
Likes: 23,183
Solutions: 5,982
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: My Torch 9860 won't boot!

You will need to use BBSAK or JL_Cmder to wipe the device and subsequently load the OS to the device. Follow the instructions here:
http://www.blackberryfaq.com/index.php/How_do_I_wipe_the_BlackBerry_using_Jl_Cmder%3F
For BBSAK, here is the link: http://bbsak.org/

Once connected to BBSAK, wipe the device to see the JVM Error 507 on screen, and then reload the operating system to the handheld. If you need further instructions on this, please ask.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Forums Advisor I
LCromwell
Posts: 557
Registered: ‎04-29-2010
My Device: Z10-STL100-4

Re: My Torch 9860 won't boot!

Sounds more and more like a continuing theme. Is it out of warranty? Did you buy the extended warranty? Whose your provider?
THE BITTERNESS OF POOR QUALITY, LINGERS LONG AFTER THE CHEAPNESS OF PRICE, IS SOON FORGOTTEN.
JSanders
Posts: 86,468
Likes: 23,183
Solutions: 5,982
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: My Torch 9860 won't boot!


LCromwell wrote:
 Whose your provider?

"My Carrier: MTN Nigeria" as stated in their profile.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Forums Advisor I
LCromwell
Posts: 557
Registered: ‎04-29-2010
My Device: Z10-STL100-4

Re: My Torch 9860 won't boot!

If you can't get it working then contact your provider to get handed off to RIM tech support.
THE BITTERNESS OF POOR QUALITY, LINGERS LONG AFTER THE CHEAPNESS OF PRICE, IS SOON FORGOTTEN.
Forums Advisor I
LCromwell
Posts: 557
Registered: ‎04-29-2010
My Device: Z10-STL100-4

Re: My Torch 9860 won't boot!

 
THE BITTERNESS OF POOR QUALITY, LINGERS LONG AFTER THE CHEAPNESS OF PRICE, IS SOON FORGOTTEN.
Contributor
westernmeadow
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎12-26-2011
My Device: Blackberry Bold 9900

Re: My Torch 9860 won't boot!

Yes, it gets stuck at the 'E' when booting...I've done the wipe using the BBSAK software and reloaded the OS, still, no changes. It wasn't bought under waranty. So, returning it may not be possible. Any other suggestion??? Thank You.