Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Torch™

Contributor
My Device: 9800 Torch on BIS
My Carrier: AT&T

New BB user - my impressions and my story

[ Edited ]

I am new to Blackberry and chose it because iPhone and Android are gimmicky, in my opinion: lots of cute little apps with very little substance. I'm more of a business user, though I use my phone for personal use. With the Torch it looked like Blackberry had the best of both worlds. PIM, and a good internet/entertainment experience on a phone that has both touch and keyboard. 

I have had my phone for one week yesterday. I spent the past week mostly getting to know the menus and deciding on my settings. I am now getting to the point of attempting to bring over my *complete* personal information, instead of the truncated data that came over on the sim card from my Nokia 5530XM. (I am also a new AT&T customer, having transferred from a small midwest U.S. cell provider that they bought, so I didn't have the AT&T contacts backup.) 

My system:

-- OS v6.0.0.246

-- BIS through AT&T

-- No corporate BES to connect with

-- I have email pushed from my newly-created @att.blackberry.net address, and also from my email at my domain hosting company. 

-- Windows XP SP3

-- 1.8 GHz processor

-- 1 GB RAM

-- USB 2.0 (or 2.1... whatever) for syncing

The phone itself is a dream!  And my only problem is occasional screen lagging, but not a lot.  Basically it has been trouble free -- until I tried to sync it with my computer. Now, my Blackberry dream is turning into a nightmare.