Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Torch™

Reply
New Contributor
jatygu
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-25-2010
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Rogers

Perpetual rebooting

Hi Gang,

 

This is a weird one and I've actually seen it just a couple times before in all the years and all the BlackBerry devices I've used: My Torch 9800 is in a state of "perpetual rebooting"! The line that moves across the screen from left to right during the startup process extends to about 70% and then the phone reboots. Did this all night. I've tried a number of things to no avail. Desktop Manager does not recognize it because it keeps shutting down in and starting up in a freakish loop...Please help!!!

 

Thanks Friends!

 

jatygu

Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,078
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Perpetual rebooting

Hello,

 

Since, as you say, you've "tried a number of things to no avail", please do list out what all of those are...so as to avoid receiving redundant advice...

 

Thanks!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Guru III
knottyrope
Posts: 30,120
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Perpetual rebooting

Are you able to restart your device in safe mode as shown in KB17877?

 

 

 

I assume, since it's caught in a reboot cycle, when you connect to the Desktop Software it doesn't take a stable connection to reinstall your software?

 

 

 

If that is case, remove your battery and keep it out when you connect to the Desktop Software. You will get a pop up that the device can't connect and there should be Retry, Update and Cancel buttons. Select Update and you will then be able to reinstall the current device software version.

 

 

 

When the load is progressing, you will see a step that says "Wait for device initialization". At this point, insert the battery and the reload should complete.

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 5.0.4 and BES 10.2.2 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2008


Please use plain text.
New Contributor
jatygu
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-25-2010
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Perpetual rebooting

Well, I guess I've just tried a few things:
-tried tethering to pc with battery removed but DM gives errors
-removed SIM
-removed micro SD
-tried holding down power button but won't power down amid reboot looping
-tried praying and crossing fingers but nothing :smileyhappy:
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
jatygu
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-25-2010
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Perpetual rebooting

Thank you, I will try what you suggested. I appreciate you thoughtful and detailed response.
Please use plain text.