Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Torch™

New Contributor
Malteravn
My Device: Blackberry Torch 9800

Torch 9800 won't boot, but is noticed by PC.

Hi guys, I'm fairly new to RIM, but as my father got a secondhand blackberry from my grandfather the other day, he encountered some weird problems, which i can't seem to figure out.

The phone has been working perfectly until now, and i'm not sure which operator my grandfather used for it, as he lives in Northern Ireland, but frequently does buisnesstrips all over the world and propably use several diferent operators. 
The thing is that as we got it, we couldn't get it to boot, and as we plugged it into the powersupply the red light turned on for approx. 30 secs, before it turned off, and showed no signs of charging at all. If we unplugged it and plugged it in again, it did the same - light for 30 secs, then shut off.

We thought it might be a problem with the batery, so we bought a new (original) one, and tried again, but the same problem occured. 

Afterwards i plugged it into my pc, and it notices that there is something plugged in, but shortly after gives an error-tone, and half a minute later unplugs again. It does this repedetly, and has probably done this five times as i've been writing this.

Each time the error-tone shows up, the red charging-light turns on, but as it unplugs it turns off. 

I am pretty skilled with both hardware and software, but have never had anything to do with RIM and Blackberry. 

If anyone has experienced this before, or have any idea what the problem might be, some help would be nice! 

Finally, sorry for my bad english, it's not my primary language.

Please use plain text.
Elite II
BillJ
My Device: BlackBerry Z30

Re: Torch 9800 won't boot, but is noticed by PC.