Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Torch™

Reply
Contributor
mgenito
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-29-2011
My Device: Bold 9650

Re: Torch Browser not working

Thanks! Give me a kudos by clicking on the icon next to my name and the solution. This allows others to find workable solutions when faced with similar problems. Glad to be of help.

Please use plain text.
Contributor
mgenito
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-29-2011
My Device: Bold 9650

Re: Torch Browser not working

Sorry, I meant to say to click on the star icon.

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
pippa81
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-01-2011
My Device: 9800 Torch

Re: Torch Browser not working

Hi, thanks for the reply.

 

Yesterday I did a straight battery pull, and it worked, so I tried that again today and it didn't.

 

I then cleared the cache, and did the battery pull as you suggested.

 

I am still getting an error 'Unable to connect to the internet, please try again later. If the problem persists...' etc

 

I still have BIS service though.

 

------

 

Ok, so i re-registered the host routing tables again - and did a battery pull,  and....

 

Nothing!

 

Gr...

 

 

 

Please use plain text.
New Member
socaljazz
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-03-2011
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Torch Browser not working

Yeah, everytime I go to it from home screen it freezes and I can't go to any other apps... I hve to press the call button to make it unfreeze. (weird, I know)

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
pippa81
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-01-2011
My Device: 9800 Torch

Re: Torch Browser not working - SOLUTION

Hi, they asked me to delete all my service books, and tthen they resent them.

 

I re-registered my host routing tables, and did a 2 minute battery pull.

 

So far everything is working! YAY!

 

Will let you know if it happens again.

The guy at the service desk said this is a problem with the Torches. :smileysad:

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
mastimania
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-07-2011
My Device: Torch 9800

Im new to dis blackberry world..purchased a blackberry to...

Im new to dis blackberry world..purchased a blackberry torch one week ago.. activated BIS pack..15 rupees unlimited for one day..jus to try it out.. i was able to use all instant messagin and mails.. but i felt i lost some more amount from my balance.. in d right corner it says "EDGE" .. the vodafone care ppl told tht the profile might be vodafone live stil..i am not able to get the proper settings of it.. pls any one help me in detail!!

Please use plain text.
New Member
jarilu
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-20-2011
My Device: Torch

Re: Torch Browser not working

how do you open your browser if your browser isn't working?

Please use plain text.
New Member
Cclaure
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-26-2012
My Device: Torch

Re: Torch Browser not working

What can I do if I can't even enter the browser? How can I clean cache?
Please use plain text.