Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Torch™

Reply
Contributor
budapest111
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-21-2012
My Device: Q10

Unable to set up BIS account and company emails

Hi,

 

I have the following story:

I changed carrier last week, until that everything worked fine, my yahoo, google and company emails. I use BIS.

Now, I am not able to setup my company email, but my other emails work ok, m phone is registered. I use these emails since many years and had 3-4 different bb models, having no problem to setup all of them.


So, i tried my new carrier's website to create a new account, I got the following message:

Cannot create account:  

This action cannot be performed using a browser on a computer. Use the email setup application on your BlackBerry® smartphone to create an account.

 

I called my previous carrier, they say tham my PIN is deleted from their system.

 

My current carrier (vodafone hungary) says taht everything is fine from their side, it should work. And I have to fix my company email. When I try to set it up, I got the message that the server is not responding.

 

Any idea?

 

 

Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,783
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)

Re: Unable to set up BIS account and company emails

Hi and Welcome to the Community!

 

I cannot tell for sure, but have you tried the on-device email configuration? Some carriers do not support using their BIS website for this purpose, and the message you received indicates that to be the case. But I cannot tell if you tried your on-device email configuration app or not.

 

Also, from your BB Browser, you can attempt this link:

Sometimes that can succeed where other methods fail.

 

Good luck and let us know!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
budapest111
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-21-2012
My Device: Q10

Re: Unable to set up BIS account and company emails

 

I tried it  and it does not work for my company email, but it works for my google email.

 

Vodafone sent me description how to set up a new account, therefore I supposed to have a BIS account on their site... I guess...

 

 

 

 

 

Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,783
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)

Re: Unable to set up BIS account and company emails


budapest111 wrote:

 

I tried it  and it does not work for my company email, but it works for my google email.

 


"it"...since I recommended two things, I cannot know which you used that did not work...both perhaps?

 

In any event, can you provide some further details? For instance:

  1. Are there any BIS-handled email accounts presently configured to this BB? I'm guessing yes, since you mention google, but I want to be certain.
  2. If so, does Vodafone confirm that those are configured inside of THEIR BIS system? While rare, it is possible to be operating on one carrier yet receiving BIS services from another.
  3. Is this work account POP, IMAP, or OWA?
  4. What exact steps do you conduct to configure, and what exactly happens? If there are any error messages (beyond the one you listed at the top), please tell us the complete and exact text of them.
  5. Has Vodafone attempted yet to set this email up for you? They can do that...but you must reveal your email credentials to the agent, and that's a risky thing to do.

Thanks and let us know!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
budapest111
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-21-2012
My Device: Q10

Re: Unable to set up BIS account and company emails

Thank you for your reply.

 

"it"...since I recommended two things, I cannot know which you used that did not work...both perhaps?

 

I tried both, none of them worked

 

Are there any BIS-handled email accounts presently configured to this BB? I'm guessing yes, since you mention google, but I want to be certain.

Yes, google and yahoo are working fine.

 

If so, does Vodafone confirm that those are configured inside of THEIR BIS system? While rare, it is possible to be operating on one carrier yet receiving BIS services from another.


Yes, it is Vodafone service, they tried to reregister me, but no change...

 

Is this work account POP, IMAP, or OWA?

 

IMAP

 

What exact steps do you conduct to configure, and what exactly happens? If there are any error messages (beyond the one you listed at the top), please tell us the complete and exact text of them.

 

If I use my bb to setup my emai, enter my email address and password, I get the message: Invalid email address or password. Verify your email address and password, if the error persists, contact p....hu (my company name).

 

Has Vodafone attempted yet to set this email up for you? They can do that...but you must reveal your email credentials to the agent, and that's a risky thing to do.

 

No, but I asked one of my friend to try to set up my company email on his bb. Did not work either, he uses other Hungarian carrier and BIS. Strange...

It seems to me tht after I changed my carrier my company email server cannot communicate with BIS.

I am still not abel to log in http://www.mobileemail.vodafone.hu/ and create a new account.

 

Any idea? Looks to be pretty complicated... :smileyhappy:

 

Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,783
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)

Re: Unable to set up BIS account and company emails

Thank you for all of those answers...they help a great deal.

 

You should talk with your work email admins to see if there's anything special about their system that needs to be accommodated in your configuration. Also, have them review this KB to be sure that they've opened up all that is required for BIS to properly integrate:

  • KB11036 Firewall and connection requirements for the BlackBerry Internet Service

Further, if the auto-configs do not properly sense what is needed, you may need to use advanced configuration...you select that by intentionally providing your correct email address, but an incorrect password. The next screen that should come up has a check-box for you to say you will provide manual settings...check that and then put into the fields what your email admins tell you is needed. That may perhaps work. It's called advanced integration, and here's the relevant KB:

  • KB10154 How to integrate a POP or IMAP email account through advanced integration

While rare, it is also possible for some internet-facing email systems to not be able to configure into BIS. However, since you say you had this email account previously working on your BB, this result would not be logical -- unless the email admins changed something on their side.

 


I am curious about two of your responses though...those you talk about re-registering and creating a new account. One BB PIN can have only one BIS account at any given time (and only on one carrier at a time). So, unless your BIS account were first deleted, you would of course fail to be able to create a new one.

 


It is also possible that perhaps you indeed are not providing the proper credentials when you configure...if there is a combination of numbers and symbols in your credentials, then you need to be especially careful when entering those, especially via the device interface. For instance, if your password is

  • ab123

and you enter

  • a > b > ALT > 1 > 2 > 3

the actual result will be

  • ab1er

You must enter

  • a > b > ALT > 1 > ALT > 2 > ALT > 3

in order to wind up with ab123. So, in this example, while on the BB keyboard you think you are typing ab123, you are actually typing ab1er.


You may also need to take that risk of having a Vodafone rep attempt configuring this into your account for you.

 

Good luck and let us know!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
budapest111
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-21-2012
My Device: Q10

Re: Unable to set up BIS account and company emails

Thanks once again.

 

I contacted my hosting company,  tomorrow they will check these IP addresses.

 


I check a few pages and I found an email validation support application on bb website, I entered all my data, it works:

Success!


Your email account has successfully been validated. Use one of these settings when setting up your BlackBerry smartphone.

 

https://www.blackberry.com/eavt/web20/index.jsp

 

But I got the message that I have too many emails...

Contributor
budapest111
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-21-2012
My Device: Q10

Re: Unable to set up BIS account and company emails

Other question:

 

If I set up my IMAP company emial account on BB, I think it wants to download all my emails not only my unread ones. Can it be the problem?

 

 

Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,783
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)

Re: Unable to set up BIS account and company emails

I'm confused...I thought you had success? Did I misunderstand?

As to your question, I don't think that any email configuration will truly bring the entire mailbox. All configurations are designed to begin delivering new items starting at the time of configuration, but older items do not come to the device. (BES can use a trick of pre-population, but even that has limits.)

So, anyway, what is "the problem"? I think I have misunderstood your status at this point in your issues.

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
budapest111
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-21-2012
My Device: Q10

Re: Unable to set up BIS account and company emails

I had success with the validation report, but I am still not able to set up emaill acount via bb.