Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Torch™

Reply
New Contributor
gold_53
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-28-2011
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: AT&T
Accepted Solution

WI-FI

I made a mistake in setting up my Torch to connect to my home wi-fi network and now it won't grant me access. How can I reset set it?
Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,508
Likes: 22,615
Solutions: 5,825
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: WI-FI

How to reset what... the WiFi connection to your home router?

On the BlackBerry do this:

  1. Go to the Manage Connections icon, click on it.
  2. Scroll down to Setup WiFi Network, click on it.
  3. Click on the Menu key > Options.
  4. See the section "Reset to Default Settings" and click on the "Reset Settings" at the bottom of that screen.

This will remove your saved WiFi settings including that of your home network.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
gold_53
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-28-2011
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: WI-FI

Thanks

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Soul_Loveuz
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-25-2011
My Device: blackberry 8520 curve
My Carrier: BASE (Belgium operator)

Problem with wi fi HELP

It has been now 2 months that I have my BB Curve 8520, everything worked fine, but now I can't connect to Internet. Even though I can see the name of my Internet provider on the screen as usual, but I couldn't say if the icon is white or grey, I think it's grey, but I didn't noticed if it used to be white. When I want to open a web page, they say "Impossible to connect to Internet, try later. If the problem persists contact you Internet provider", and when I want to connect to Twitter it says "Could not find a service book entry for IPPP". I don't know why, everything used to work very well, and I didn't change anything. Please help me!! Thank you.

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,508
Likes: 22,615
Solutions: 5,825
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Problem with wi fi HELP


Soul_Loveuz wrote:

It has been now 2 months that I have my BB Curve 8520, everything worked fine, but now I can't connect to Internet. Even though I can see the name of my Internet provider on the screen as usual, but I couldn't say if the icon is white or grey, I think it's grey, but I didn't noticed if it used to be white. When I want to open a web page, they say "Impossible to connect to Internet, try later. If the problem persists contact you Internet provider", and when I want to connect to Twitter it says "Could not find a service book entry for IPPP". I don't know why, everything used to work very well, and I didn't change anything. Please help me!! Thank you.


1. Please do not triple post your questions in the forum, it is rude and simply wastes the time of the volunteers here who you wish to get assistance from. Thanks for understanding.

 

2. You need to determine if the icon is bright wite or grey, if you cannnot, ask a friend to look at it.

 

3. Do a simple reboot on the BlackBerry in this manner: With the BlackBerry device POWERED ON, remove the battery for a minute, and then reinsert the battery to reboot. A reboot in this manner is prescirbed for most gltiches and operating system errors, and you will lose no data on the device doing this.

 

4. Now try to reconnect.

 

5. If you still cannot, Please look at your Manage Connections screen > And the second item "WiFi", does it show connected to the WiFi router in green type? Is there a green check mark to the right, or a white dash?




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Soul_Loveuz
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-25-2011
My Device: blackberry 8520 curve
My Carrier: BASE (Belgium operator)

Re: Problem with wi fi HELP

Oh I'm sorry, I didn't want to post it 3 times, it's just because I couldn' find the button to create a "new post", and then I found it, and realized I was in the wrong subject, so i'm sorry about that. I understand it is annoying, but it was not my intention.

Ok, so I removed the battery and then reinserted it as you told me, and THANK YOU!!! It's working now, I can connect to everything. However, I checked the Manage Connections screen and the name of my Internet provider is typed in green, but there is a white dash to the right, so is it bad? I mean is there a risk to have the same problem again?

 

Thanks again for your help!!

Please use plain text.
New Member
coco92
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-03-2011
My Device: BlackBerry Curve 8520
My Carrier: developer

Re: Problem with wi fi HELP

   I have the same problem. :smileysad: but nothing change. I try everything. When I look at my Manage Connections screen > And the second item "WiFi", show connected to the WiFi router in green type. But there is a white dash?. What should I do? 

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,508
Likes: 22,615
Solutions: 5,825
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: WI-FI

coco, it likely means you do not have the BlackBerry data plan on your mobile provider account.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
paezde
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-05-2011
My Device: BB Torch
My Carrier: Movistar

Re: Problem with wi fi HELP

Thanks!!! It worked perfectly for me :smileywink:
Please use plain text.
Contributor
zyntle
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-25-2012
My Device: 8520
My Carrier: penelop

Re: WI-FI

Please help I have no idea on how to set-up wi fi....I want to have andv use my wi fi,,,how to set up wi fi????
Please use plain text.