Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Torch™

Reply
New Contributor
San11
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-30-2012
My Device: Torch 9810

do you think this is a software problem?

[ Edited ]

I bought a refurbished Torch 9810 from this store known as Cash Generator in the UK. It's in near new condition, was only £120 if there's anyone else who lives in the UK.

 

Started it, it was rebooted from security wipe. Set up everything.

 

HOWEVER two issues!

 

1- THe device does not recognise that when headphones are inserted! It only plays music through the speakers..

2- If I try to install an app then it just says that the app world has encountered a problem and needs to close.

 

It's on the factory default BB7 ie. 7.0.0.540.. Wait a sec this is the original v of BB7 right?

 

What should I do!? I remember my Curve 9360 had the same issue but all it needed was a reset. I tried a battery pull on the torch but same problem.

 

Should I update to 7.1 and see if anhything is fixed?

 

Any idea how much it would cost to fix this if it is physical problem!? yeah, ovsli I'm gonna complain to the store. However, I got it for a ridicolously good price! If it costs about £50 to fix then I guess it'd be worth it..

 

Other question: How long does it take to charge a torch via wall socket? Thought I'd put that there where appropiate.

 

Thanks in advance :smileyhappy:

 

 

Please use plain text.
Elite II
BillJ
Posts: 8,978
Registered: ‎01-05-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z30

Re: do you think this is a software problem?

Should you upgrade to OS 7.1?  Yes, I always suggest the latest update.

 

Do I think it's a software problem?  Possibly, so upgrade your OS and see if that helps.  If not, run the phone back to the store for a replacement or refund.

 

App World needs to close?  That's probably just temporary.  Upgrade your OS, do a battery pull and see if that resolves the issue.

 

 

Post back if you have more questions.  :smileyhappy:


- If my response has helped you, please click "Options" beside my post and mark it as solved. Clicking the "thumbs up" icon near the bottom of my response would also be appreciated.



Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 85,684
Likes: 23,101
Solutions: 5,951
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: do you think this is a software problem?

Ditto to all of BillJ's answers.

 

In addition, your 9810 should take about an hour to charge from 10-15% to a full 100%.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
San11
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-30-2012
My Device: Torch 9810

Re: do you think this is a software problem?

Thank you I'm going to update it in a bit and will let you know..

Other questions, well yeah. If it is a physical hardware issue, could I (won't just curious) is it possible to open it up and fix the socket? I've seen some onlinearticles on it but would like to know more


If not, any estimates on cost assuming itis possible to fix?

Finally, since this phone was released just a year ago, is the manufacturer warranty still valid? Wasn't it 2 years?

Thanks again!
Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 85,684
Likes: 23,101
Solutions: 5,951
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: do you think this is a software problem?

[ Edited ]

The 9810 is about a year old, but of course no one here knows when it was purchased.

Have you tried a different pair of headphones plugged into the socket?

Could be a hardware issue, but you really won't know until you upgrade.

 

You can also do a Device Self Test of the hardware.

Article ID: KB16037 Using the Self Test application on the BlackBerry smartphone

Article ID: KB29379 What is the BlackBerry Device Analyzer

 

If the upgrade doesn't solve the headphone issue, next I'd wipe the device with JL_cmder or BBSAK to an error 507, and reload the OS and then test the headphones.

 

 




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
San11
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-30-2012
My Device: Torch 9810

Re: do you think this is a software problem?

Much appreciated, thanks again.

 

However, the link you provided gives ''an unexpected error'' regarding the site :smileyfrustrated: please try reposting? THanks

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
San11
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-30-2012
My Device: Torch 9810

Re: do you think this is a software problem?

OK found it myself.

Is it the Headset detect switch test I'm looking for right?

Yeah when I plug in or out no events are displayed : \

Gonna call the store and see what's up..
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
San11
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-30-2012
My Device: Torch 9810

Re: do you think this is a software problem?

Sorry for the triple post but I found this:

http://derek.chezmarcotte.ca/?p=351

 

Anyone have any opinions on it?

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 85,684
Likes: 23,101
Solutions: 5,951
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: do you think this is a software problem?


San11 wrote:

 

Anyone have any opinions on it?


Be careful, know what you are doing.

 

I edited and corrected the links above.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.