Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Torch™

Reply
New Contributor
queny77
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-29-2012
My Device: Blackberry Torch 9800
My Carrier: Smart

how to reset or reprogram my Blackberry Torch

pls help... my blackberry messenger hang, it's not working, that's why i couldn't access the internet... how to reset my blackberry 9800 torch? maybe resetting it may solve the problem.... or does it need to be reprogrammed?

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Technical Advisor (Retired)
hmthepirate
Posts: 3,246
Registered: ‎07-26-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: how to reset or reprogram my Blackberry Torch

Hello queny77 and welcome to the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

 

Sorry to hear you are having an issue with your BBM.

 

Do you get any error when it hangs? If so, what is that error? 

 

Have you confirmed with your mobile carrier that your data plan is active? 

 

You can do a reset by removing then reinserting the battery into your device.

 

If you are referring to the removal of all userdata, you would need to do a security wipe. This will delete all use data so be sure you backup your data beforehand if you wish to restore your contacts, emails etc.

-HMthePirate

 

Come follow your BlackBerry Technical Team on twitter! @BlackBerryHelp

Be sure to click Kudos! for those who have helped you.

Click Solution? for posts that have solved your issue(s)!



Please use plain text.
New Contributor
eaandrews
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-01-2013
My Device: Torche 9860
My Carrier: At&T

Re: how to reset or reprogram my Blackberry Torch

[ Edited ]

hmthepirate,

I'm having a problem with my 9860 frozen on the OS upgrade, stuck at Overall backup 9, taking out and replacing battery is not effective, data plan is active, the catch is connecting my device to USB is not an option. 

 

Is there a way to cancel update through device? Losing any data is not a problem to me at this point.

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Technical Advisor (Retired)
hmthepirate
Posts: 3,246
Registered: ‎07-26-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: how to reset or reprogram my Blackberry Torch

Hi eaandrews,

 

Are you doing this update OTA or via BlackBerry Desktop Software?

 

Are you able to see at what stage of the upgrade you appear to be stuck?

 

Thanks :smileyhappy:

-HMthePirate

 

Come follow your BlackBerry Technical Team on twitter! @BlackBerryHelp

Be sure to click Kudos! for those who have helped you.

Click Solution? for posts that have solved your issue(s)!



Please use plain text.
New Contributor
eaandrews
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-01-2013
My Device: Torche 9860
My Carrier: At&T

Re: how to reset or reprogram my Blackberry Torch

HMthePirate,

The update was OTA and has been stuck at 9%. So I take it that there is nothing I can do to abort this update, minus connecting it to BB desktop software?

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Technical Advisor (Retired)
hmthepirate
Posts: 3,246
Registered: ‎07-26-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: how to reset or reprogram my Blackberry Torch

Are you able to see at what point in the OTA update it seems to be stuck?

Depending on what stage of the OTA you are stuck you might have to use Desktop Software to complete the update.

-HMthePirate

 

Come follow your BlackBerry Technical Team on twitter! @BlackBerryHelp

Be sure to click Kudos! for those who have helped you.

Click Solution? for posts that have solved your issue(s)!



Please use plain text.