Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Torch™

New Contributor
Tingleyone
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: Orange UK
Accepted Solution

"Security Software Verification" Frequently and can't stop it

I have a Torch 9800 - which I bought second hand, with a complete re-set. I have had all my contacts and details copied over by my local orange shop.

I am totally new to Blackberry, and I am finding it very frustrating with a "Security Software Verification"  action happening frequently on my phone. The screen goes black with the Blackberry logo, and a white line slowly updates. Whilst this is happening I am unable to action any of the buttons.

I went to Options > Security Status Information (no services) > Blackberry Button > Verify Security Software

It runs through loads of ticks and says Security Tests Passed. But this action has not stopped the frequent checking.

What am I doing wrong? Or what else must I do?

Please use plain text.
Guru I
Xandrex
My Device: Z10 10.1.0.2312 / Playbook 2.1 / 8900 5.0
My Carrier: Vodafone France (SFR) & B&You

Re: "Security Software Verification" Frequently and can't stop it

when your device goes black with the white bar progressively increasing, it is not a "security software verification". It is simply that your device has decided it was so ill it could not do anything but reboot.

This is not normal. Usually it is because of either an application that uses all the memory or an application that corrupts the OS.

I suggest you open the application manager and see which one uses too much memory.

The search box on top-right of this page is your true friend, and the public Knowledge Base too:
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Tingleyone

Thank you Xandrex. I have checked running applications ( pressed and held don Menu button)