Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Torch™

Reply
New Member
jpfarrow
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-05-2013
My Device: Torch 9810

trackpad stoppped working

So I updated to the latest OS from Telus for my 9810. I want the hotspot capability. My problem is the trackpad stopped responding ater I updated.  no probelm I roll back and everything works fine. update again and same issue.

 

Anyone know where there is an updated OS for the 9810 that has the hotspot working AND the trackpad still works? I am getting seriously cheesed off and have NO desire to upgrade since I am only half way through my contract and it will cost me a fortune to upgrade to a Z10

Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,809
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)

Re: trackpad stoppped working

Hi and Welcome to the Community!

 

I do not know what OS packages have exactly what you require, but you can try them all until you find the one that works. To do so, start at the top of each device forum -- there should be some "sticky" threads that discuss the OS levels available for many models. If they include your model, then please use those as reference as you proceed. Otherwise, you will have to dig through the official download portal for OS packages for your model:

From a PC, you can install any compatible (e.g., for your exact BB Model Number) OS package to a BB via this procedure:

Note that while written for "reload" and the Storm, it can be used to upgrade, downgrade, or reload any BB device model -- it all depends on the OS package you download and install to your PC. If that OS package is from a carrier other than the carrier for which your BB was originally manufactured, then delete, on your PC, all copies of VENDOR.XML...there will be at least one, and perhaps 2, and they will be located in or similarly to (it changes based on your Windows version) these folders:

  • C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader
  • C:\Users\(your Windows UserName)\AppData\Roaming\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\Loader XML

Be sure that you remove, from your PC, any other BB device OS packages as having more than one installed to the PC can cause conflicts with this procedure.


If you are on MAC, you are limited to only your carriers sanctioned OS packages...but can still use any levels that they currently sanction. See this procedure:

  • KB19915How to perform a clean reload of BlackBerry smartphone application software using BlackBerry Desktop Software

Good luck and let us know!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
Uzumaki
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎06-09-2012
My Device: torch 2

Re: trackpad stoppped working

after my 1st upgrad, the trackpad stopped wrking, it can click fine but wnt scroll left or right, up or down. i nw recently upgraded to build.812 the trackpad stil dont scroll. i am using torch 2

 

kindly assist

Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,809
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)

Re: trackpad stoppped working


Uzumaki wrote:

after my 1st upgrad, the trackpad stopped wrking, it can click fine but wnt scroll left or right, up or down. i nw recently upgraded to build.812 the trackpad stil dont scroll. i am using torch 2

 

kindly assist


Hello,

 

The process is yours to follow...if you feel the problem is the OS, then keep trying other OS packages. But, do understand that there is no way, here at an internet-distance, to provide you with any 100% diagnosis. All we can do is deduce to a most likely problem, and the quality of that deduction will be completely dependent on the amount of effort you undertake -- the more OS packages you try that continue to exhibit this behavior, the more likely the problem is hardware. And, if the problem is hardware, there is no amount of internet-distance help that can be given...only in-person evaluation by a qualified hardware technician can give a proper diagnosis and estimate for hardware problems. What we can do here can only reach a likely conclusion that the problem is hardware...but we cannot truly diagnose that as such...for the internet-distance separation prevents anything reaching 100%

 

Good luck!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
Uzumaki
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎06-09-2012
My Device: torch 2

Re: trackpad stoppped working

thanks, why i think its OS is cos, sometimes after a reboot, it starts working and after the screen goes to sleep mode it stops working
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,809
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)

Re: trackpad stoppped working


Uzumaki wrote:
thanks, why i think its OS is cos, sometimes after a reboot, it starts working and after the screen goes to sleep mode it stops working

Oh! That's rather different than what you posted above. In which case, you might benefit from this:

  1. Load your OS "bare bones"...if anything is optional, do not install it.
  2. If the behavior presents immediately, then try a different OS with step 1
  3. If the behavior does not immediately present, then run for as long as it takes for you to be sure that the behavior will not present.
  4. Add one thing -- no matter how tempting, just one.
  5. If the behavior does not present immediately, then again run for long enough to be sure it will not have the same problem
  6. Repeat steps 4 and 5 until all things are loaded or the behavior presents

When the behavior presents, you know the culprit...the last thing you loaded.

If the behavior does not re-present, then you know that either step 1 or 2 cured it.

If the behavior presents no matter what, then you likely have a hardware level issue for which no amount of OS or software can cure.

 

Good luck!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
Uzumaki
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎06-09-2012
My Device: torch 2

Re: trackpad stoppped working

thanks, i appreciate that alot, will giv it try