Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Torch™

Reply
Visitor
khushi0312
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-21-2013
My Device: TOURCH 9810
My Carrier: IDEA CELLULAR

update tourch 9810

Like to update 9810 from OS7 to 7.1 , But not happening

 

Safe Regards,

Vinod
Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,285
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: update tourch 9810

Hi and Welcome to the Community!

 

Hmmm..."not happening"...I can only wonder what that actually means. Can you possibly provide us better details? Things like exactly what you try, exactly what the (step by step) results are, and the exact and complete content of any error messages presented? As it is, there's just too little detail in your post to make any guesses useful.

 

Your first step, of course, is to verify if the OS level you desire even exists...you do that by digging through the official download portal:

Good luck and let us know!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
mojeff
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-21-2013
My Device: Torch 9810
My Carrier: att

Re: update tourch 9810

I too am having an issue.  I have 2 torch 9810s.  One is on v6.x and the other is on 7.0.0.  I am in ATT wireless.  I download the file for v 7.1.0 from the list in the link, install it on the PC, then connect the BB.  When selecting update, it doesnt find anything.  I select the other version button and it only displays whats currently installed on each BB.

 

Any ideas?

Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,285
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: update tourch 9810


mojeff wrote:

I too am having an issue.  I have 2 torch 9810s.  One is on v6.x and the other is on 7.0.0.  I am in ATT wireless.  I download the file for v 7.1.0 from the list in the link, install it on the PC, then connect the BB.  When selecting update, it doesnt find anything.  I select the other version button and it only displays whats currently installed on each BB.

 

Any ideas?


Hi and Welcome to the Community!

If your BBs were not originally manufactured for ATT, then they have a different VendorID hard coded into them, and therefore the ATT OS package is being ignored as incompatible. If that is the case (I am guessing here), then you must delete the VENDOR.XML file(s) on your PC prior to attempting to use the Desktop Software to push that OS to your BBs. Further, if there is more than one OS package installed to your PC, that can cause confusion for the process.

 

Good luck!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
mojeff
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-21-2013
My Device: Torch 9810
My Carrier: att

Re: update tourch 9810

THanks... yes they are original to ATT.

 

I had to remove all of the updates and the Desktop software.  Reboot, reinstall the desktop software, reboot then install the 7.1 software and reboot.  Then it saw it.  Then I also used the loader to complete wipe everything out and finally restart the desktop and let the update happen.

 

Now they are both on 7.1.


Thanks for your help.

Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,285
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: update tourch 9810

You are most welcome.

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.