Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Tour™

New Contributor
TourGuide15
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

BB Tour GPS isn't very accurate

Hi. I've only had my Tour for a few weeks and I've been playing around with the GPS but it isn't very accurate. I have Google Maps and the location I get is often off by a few miles. I also have a few apps that try to lock on to my location but can never actually lock on. I have enabled GPS on the phone so that's not the problem. Is there anyway to fix this or to calibrate the GPS so that the apps and google maps work and are more accurate in pinpointing my location?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thank you much.

Please use plain text.
Contributor
Foulwx
My Device: Tour 9630 5.0.0.484

Re: BB Tour GPS isn't very accurate

I'm pretty new to the Tour and Blackberries in general, but I found the same problem with Google Maps.  I don't think it works very well with that program - I'm sure there are some threads around on the topic.  I've found that BB Maps, and Sprint's Navigator program are spot on.  Try one of those.
Please use plain text.
JSanders
Solutions: 5,951
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

[ Edited ]

It is a common misconception that your Google Maps is way off...when what you are doing is "locating" yourself via the cell tower triangulation, not GPS.

Google Maps uses the cell tower fixing by default (even on devices without GPS enabled). You will see a broad wide light blue circle to indicate the cell tower range you are within.

When GPS is fixed on you, you will see a sold blue dot, to indicate your exact position, usually within 3-10 meters

So, on your Tour, do this:

First, go to Options > Advanced > GPS. There, make certain that GPS Services = Location On, and Location Aiding = Enabled.