Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Tour™

Reply
New Contributor
gabbai
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-21-2010
My Device: Blackberry 8700G

rim.transcoder has encountered a user-defined breakpoint

I now get this message every time I connect my Tour 9630 to my computer either by cable or Bluetooth. I click OK and backup and/or sync.  The sync works for sure but I do not want to risk trying the backup by deleting what I know I have and using the last backup file. What is this error about and how do I fixit?

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Technical Advisor (Retired)
hmthepirate
Posts: 3,246
Registered: ‎07-26-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: rim.transcoder has encountered a user-defined breakpoint

Hello gabbai,

 

Is the Desktop software running when you connect your device? Or does this error pop up as soon as you connect your device?

 

Do you have your synchronization set up to run automatically when your device is connected? If so, if you turn it off, does this error still pop up?

 

Thanks.

-HMthePirate

 

Come follow your BlackBerry Technical Team on twitter! @BlackBerryHelp

Be sure to click Kudos! for those who have helped you.

Click Solution? for posts that have solved your issue(s)!



Please use plain text.
Contributor
TheDuck
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎04-14-2011
My Device: BlackBerry Storm 9530
My Carrier: Cellcom

Re: rim.transcoder has encountered a user-defined breakpoint

I encounter the same problem on Windows 7 (En) and it pops when I start the application (the Desktop Software does NOT start automatically)

Please use plain text.
New Member
rbidels
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-21-2011
My Device: BlackBerry Tour 9630
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: rim.transcoder has encountered a user-defined breakpoint

I've had this issue for a few months and hoped an update would fix the issue; the most recent one hasn't.  I select "Check online for a solution and close the program" but the error repeats ad nauseam.  I can minimize the message, backup and synch normally, but the error pops up every time.  I'm running Windows 7, 8gb memory.

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
momrod2000
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: rim.transcoder has encountered a user-defined breakpoint

I'm glad I'm not the only one getting this error.  What is the fix for this error?  I tried uninstalling and reinstalling the software on my desktop, but continue to have this problem.

Please use plain text.
New Member
dwcrawford
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-25-2011
My Device: curve 9300
My Carrier: koodo

Re: rim.transcoder has encountered a user-defined breakpoint

This is a compatibilty problem in windows Vista or Windows 7, Rim.Transcoder has to be changed to run as Admin and under windows XP SP 1 or 2, it's a Dos exe and will not run in windows 7 till you change the properities of file.

 

Location C:\program files (x86)\research in motion\blackberry desktop and locate file rim.transcoder and right click properities, change compatibilty as per above and use run as admin.

 

Close program and error will not occure.

 

tested and works.

 

:smileyhappy:

 

 

Please use plain text.
Contributor
TheDuck
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎04-14-2011
My Device: BlackBerry Storm 9530
My Carrier: Cellcom

Re: rim.transcoder has encountered a user-defined breakpoint

Will test it in a short while... Sounds absolutly to the dot...
Thanks
Please use plain text.