If you are using Internet Explorer, please remove blackberry.com from your compatibility view settings.

Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® World™ Development

Reply
Developer
swap_chau
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎06-15-2011
My Device: Storm 9550
My Carrier: Vodaphone

Error getting process ID

[ Edited ]

Hi,


whenever my client installs the app world application, and try to get  list of digital goods, they receive en error "Error getting process ID". They are testing on 9860, OS is 7.0. 

 

What might be the reson behind this? 

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Error getting precess ID

Did they install the application via App World?

Are you able to reproduce the issue yourself?

What line throws this exception?

Which SDK version was used to compile this application?

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Please use plain text.
Developer
swap_chau
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎06-15-2011
My Device: Storm 9550
My Carrier: Vodaphone

Re: Error getting precess ID

Yes app was installed via app world.

I could not reproduce the issue.

The error is returned in error method of DigitalGoodsListingListener.

Payment sdk version is 1.8.

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Error getting precess ID

Does the user have BIS data available on their smartphone?

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Please use plain text.
Developer
swap_chau
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎06-15-2011
My Device: Storm 9550
My Carrier: Vodaphone

Re: Error getting precess ID

I am not aware of it, but most likely answer will be no.
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Error getting precess ID

That could be the issue. As noted in the following thread (to which you have actually posted) BIS data is required to use the APIs included with the Payment SDK v1.8:

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/BlackBerry-App-World-Development/DigitalGoodsListingListener-...

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Please use plain text.
Developer
swap_chau
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎06-15-2011
My Device: Storm 9550
My Carrier: Vodaphone

Re: Error getting process ID

[ Edited ]

I have another post: http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/BlackBerry-App-World-Development/DigitalGoodsListener-problem...

Here both SIMs are without BIS but it works fine on one SIM while not working on the other. While testing the application, most of times we used SIMs without BIS, but it was working fine.

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Development Advisor (Retired)
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Error getting process ID

BIS is required to use the new APIs introduced in SDK 1.8 (DigitalGoods.get(), PaymentHistory.get()). Other APIs may work but would require at least a standard data plan or WiFi access to function as well as a version of App World that functions correctly without BIS (a quick test would verify this).

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Please use plain text.
Developer
swap_chau
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎06-15-2011
My Device: Storm 9550
My Carrier: Vodaphone

Re: Error getting process ID

I tried a BIS sim and while retrieving digital goods got error "Could not connect to appworld to verify application origin". My Wifi was turned off.
Carrier = Vodaphone India
Device = 8520
Os = 5.0.0.1036
app world version = 3.1.2.32

As per your comment it should work with BIS or Wifi but it is not.
Please use plain text.
Developer
swap_chau
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎06-15-2011
My Device: Storm 9550
My Carrier: Vodaphone

Re: Error getting process ID

The error "Error getting process ID" is generated on OS version 7 or 7.1 only. It works fine on OS v 5. Exact OS version is 7.0.0.296 Platform 5.0.0.496.
Please use plain text.