Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® World™ Development

Reply
Contributor
BerryBlack13
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎04-09-2013
My Device: developer

One exported bar-file for Q10, Z10 with one Native SDK 10.1.0.1483, adding screen ratio dependent screenshots

I have 2 simple questions.

I have developed an app for z10, 2 months ago, with sdk 10.0.9.x. Last month 25% of my customers have OS version 10.0.9 (Verizon USA). At the moment the app works also for Q10 with the last sdk 10.1.0.1483. I used the
last sdk because of the static asset selector for different resolutions (720x720 and 1280x768). Usefull because one bar-file is sufficient for all the devices.

 

But the problem is that i have customers who have a lower sdk version. That means that i have to upload two seperate bar-files (z10: sdk 10.0.9.x and q10:sdk 10.1.01483)  instead of one. Is there a way to stick to one bar-file?

And the last question: When adding screenshots to the product (vendor portal) you can upload two different screenshot ratios(16:9 /1:1).
Does Blackberry world select the screenshots according to the ratio of the screen of the device (screenshots 16:9--> z10 and 1:1 -->q10)?

 

Thanks in advance
 
 

Developer
StevenKader
Posts: 645
Registered: ‎02-03-2010
My Device: Z10 LE

Re: One exported bar-file for Q10, Z10 with one Native SDK 10.1.0.1483, adding screen ratio dependent screenshots

I only know the answer to the first question.  You will need to separate releases once you have an app that needs 10.1.  For that reason I only use 10.0.9 for Z10 and Q10 until a time when I really need something in 10.1.

 

For the second question I think you'll need to put a square one up and see what happens on each device.


Steven Kader at JaredCo
   Follow me on Twitter    |     Mipixi.com :  Web App for Photo Sharing
Contributor
BerryBlack13
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎04-09-2013
My Device: developer

Re: One exported bar-file for Q10, Z10 with one Native SDK 10.1.0.1483, adding screen ratio dependent screenshots

Ok thanks Steven!

I assume that you use 1 layout for both devices (Z10 and Q10). Then there is no problem using the lowest sdk.
But in my case, i use 2 different layouts and the asset selector selects the right one for one of the two screensizes. If you want to use the asset selector then u have to choose sdk 10.1.x. There are two solutions.

-For z10 use sdk 10.0.9 and for Q10 use sdk 10.1.x.  
-Or develop two different application for 2 layouts using sdk 10.0.9.x.        

In both cases u end with to seperate releases. And when is the time right to switch to 10.1.x keeping in mind the customers who already have the app.

 

(i use cascades)

 

Developer
StevenKader
Posts: 645
Registered: ‎02-03-2010
My Device: Z10 LE

Re: One exported bar-file for Q10, Z10 with one Native SDK 10.1.0.1483, adding screen ratio dependent screenshots

You should be able to have one release with two filebundles.  One targeted for  10.0 and Z10 only, the other targeted to 10.1 and Q10 only.

 

Does that work for you?


Steven Kader at JaredCo
   Follow me on Twitter    |     Mipixi.com :  Web App for Photo Sharing
Contributor
BerryBlack13
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎04-09-2013
My Device: developer

Re: One exported bar-file for Q10, Z10 with one Native SDK 10.1.0.1483, adding screen ratio dependent screenshots

I don't understand. Do you mean in the Vendor portal (when uploading)? Or in QNX Momentics IDE (eclipse) , bar-descriptor file or something.  In the vendor portal i understand but setting two targets in eclipse not?

But when uploading in the vendor portal u still end with two bar files. Or am i wrong?

Developer
StevenKader
Posts: 645
Registered: ‎02-03-2010
My Device: Z10 LE

Re: One exported bar-file for Q10, Z10 with one Native SDK 10.1.0.1483, adding screen ratio dependent screenshots

Sorry for the confusion.  

 

If you use the asset selector there is no way to support the Z10 on OS 10.0

That is probably why I didn't even know about it becuase all of my apps need to support Z10 (at lowest OS level) as well as Q10.   If you don't have too many assets that are different you could handle the differences inline in QML like this :  

 visible: (DisplayInfo.height > 1200) ? true : false

 

It will take a long time for most of the Z10 users to actually get and upgrade to 10.1 being able to build one app with 10.0 to support both may be worth doing. 


Steven Kader at JaredCo
   Follow me on Twitter    |     Mipixi.com :  Web App for Photo Sharing
Contributor
BerryBlack13
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎04-09-2013
My Device: developer

Re: One exported bar-file for Q10, Z10 with one Native SDK 10.1.0.1483, adding screen ratio dependent screenshots

[ Edited ]

I have rearranged the TextFields and Labels for the Q10 device, so the assets differ too much.

However, that inline QML thing is a good suggestion for a next App.

I think i will compile the App with 10.0.9.x for Z10 and then an other bar-file for Q10 with 10.1.x, then i have one project file in Cascades.

Developer
StevenKader
Posts: 645
Registered: ‎02-03-2010
My Device: Z10 LE

Re: One exported bar-file for Q10, Z10 with one Native SDK 10.1.0.1483, adding screen ratio dependent screenshots

I tried something else that may work for you as well.  If you leave your Z10 assets in the assets folder (not under 768x1280 folder) then the 10.0.9 build works fine (it will ignore the 720x720 folder).  Then you can build again under 10.1 for the Q10 and it will pick up the assets in the 720x720.  You still get two BARS but at least you can use two sets of assets if you find it better for you.

 

Hope this makes sense.


Steven Kader at JaredCo
   Follow me on Twitter    |     Mipixi.com :  Web App for Photo Sharing
Contributor
BerryBlack13
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎04-09-2013
My Device: developer

Re: One exported bar-file for Q10, Z10 with one Native SDK 10.1.0.1483, adding screen ratio dependent screenshots

Yes, that's what i'am already doing now. Maybe i wasn't clear in my last post, last sentence.

(One project, two times compiling with different sdk's.)

I think this is the best solution.

I did not know there was, at another thread, a similar discussion about this topic. Sorry:smileyhappy:

 

Thanks for your reaction!