Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® World™ Development

New Contributor
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: O2
Accepted Solution

Too many IDs I'm very confused!

Hi

I'm new to BB dev and have been working on an app using the Simulator. Now I want to test out on my own phone but going around in circles. Could someone explain, in simple terms what each of these IDs are for.

Debug token

Author ID

Blackberry ID

CSJ Pin

Signing Keys

Blackberry ID token

The online Docs just send me round and around.

Thanks in advance!

Stuart

BlackBerry Development Advisor
My Device: BlackBerry Passport
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Too many IDs I'm very confused!

Here's a couple of lines for each one.  If you need more info for any let me know.

Debug token - Install on a device to let you run unsigned applications you create.  Tied to a developer and a device.

Author ID - This is the company name shown on the device as the author of the application.  It's shown on various security prompts and in the application permissions in the Settings app.

BlackBerry ID - BlackBerry ID authentication system used to control access to various BlackBerry resources.  Third party applications can also make use of it. 

CSJ PIN - PIN you enter on this form and then when registering your CSJ files used to configure your BlackBerry Code Signing Keys.  You only use this PIN once.

Signing Keys - Used to sign an application, identify its author and ensure it hasn't been modified since the developer built it.  Replaced with BlackBerry ID Tokens for BlackBerry 10.2 SDKs.

BlackBerry ID Token - Replacement for signing keys.  It is used to identify your BlackBerry ID account, which identifies you when signing an application.

Mark Sohm

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.