Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® World™ Development

Reply
New Member
mmriyadh
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-28-2012
My Device: 9810

Re: Unable to update customer device info

Any update on this issue would be greatly appreciated.

Please use plain text.
Retired
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10

Re: Unable to update customer device info

No update available yet. The teams are investigating. Once that is complete we would need to schedule a server update to resolve the issue. I will keep this thread posted.

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
chrisjBitheads
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎11-22-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Unable to update customer device info

We have been plagued by this issue for a while now, and we just found a work-around... 

 

Go to Settings... BlackBerry Id... Change screen name and save changes... 

 

Now return to BlackBerry World, and you should not see the "unable to update customer device info"

 

ChrisJ

 

Please use plain text.
Retired
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10

Re: Unable to update customer device info


chrisjBitheads wrote:

We have been plagued by this issue for a while now, and we just found a work-around... 

 

Go to Settings... BlackBerry Id... Change screen name and save changes... 

 

Now return to BlackBerry World, and you should not see the "unable to update customer device info"

 

ChrisJ

 


Thanks ChrisJ! 

 

Our BlackBerry World Server teams have found the root cause and will have a fix out in the next major server update of BlackBerry World, which is targeted for a couple months away. For now I will be writing a KB article using ChrisJ's workaround as the current option to allow downloading in sandbox mode. Will post back with the KB once posted.

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Please use plain text.
Retired
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10

Re: Unable to update customer device info

This article has been published here (with ChrisJ listed as a contributor):

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/BlackBerry-World-Development/quot-Unable-to-update-customer-d...

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Please use plain text.
Contributor
sendsol
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎03-19-2013
My Device: Z10

Re: Unable to update customer device info

Hi,

 

I have tested the workaround and it seems to have mostly solved the problem.

 

However, there is still 1 app which I can not test.

 

The appid of the app is: 25266896

 

When i use this as the content id it takes me to the appworld page of this app, but when i click on download it says "download error" and i can not download the app to my phone.

 

I have no idea if this is related to the "unable to update customer info" bug or if this is a new bug entirely?

Please use plain text.
Retired
gbeukeboom
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10

Re: Unable to update customer device info

That sounds like a different error altogether. Try hitting the download button a few times which may help it come through.

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Please use plain text.
Developer
interfaSys
Posts: 817
Registered: ‎11-19-2009
My Device: Z10, Q10, 9900, 9790, PlayBook,

Re: Unable to update customer device info

2 months away!?!

It seems the screen name has to be changed for every single app we want to test :smileyfrustrated:

--
Olivier - interfaSys ltd
Developing for BlackBerry 10 devices using the Sencha Touch framework.
Please use plain text.
Developer
jaiaca
Posts: 96
Registered: ‎10-06-2012
My Device: Z10

Re: Unable to update customer device info

I've been having this same problem....Work-around works perfectly, although it's a bit annoying.

Thanks for the post.
Jason I. Carter
Follow me @jasonicarter
Built For BlackBerry - WordsPlus & WordsPlus: Free Edition | word search has never had it so good
www.twocasualcoders.com | never casual on quality
Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
dlacerte
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎03-12-2013
My Device: BB Z10

Re: Unable to update customer device info

The steps outlined do change the behavior somewhat but don't resolve the issue in my case. Previous to changing my screen name I was getting a popup with the subject message, and now I don't get the popup but I still see the message that was hidden behind the popup "There was a problem loading this Page, due to a network error." and there is a busy circle behind it. I don't have any network error, the network is running fine and the app can be used to download "regular" apps fine. I tried changing my screen name a couple of times with no change in behavior.
Please use plain text.