Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® World™ Development

Contributor
My Device: Curve
My Carrier: Three

Why is the App review process so slow?

I have had an app under review for the best part of a month and the last time I had to resubmit the app was 14 days ago, why is the App review process so slow? I know I have submitted this app during the free playbook promotion, but to be perfectly honest if it wasn't for this promotion I wouldn't even know that Blackberry had started accepting Android apps for submission. As an existing Android developer my only interest in Blackberry is to be able to port my existing Android apps to Blackberry for when they work in the new handsets later in the year. Apart from the fact that I can test them on the playbook in advance it is secondary interest to me. What I need is to be able to wait a reasonable time for a submission and expect updates more than every 14 days.

I accept that Blackberry have gone down the pre approval route but frankly I'm not sure what exactly you are protecting. This promotion may have attracted a lot of people who have written one off apps usually using online online software but you are potentially alienating a lot more potential developers. My app was rejected among other reasons because the icon was called blackberry.png instead of BlackBerry.png are you kidding? are you seriously suggesting one of the worlds biggest software companies can't write a program to change that automatically.