Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® World™ Development

Reply
Developer
Posts: 455
Registered: ‎03-04-2011
My Device: Paper cup

Re: reports not working again

[ Edited ]

[edit]  Reporting was down but is now back up.

 

Developer
Posts: 1,280
Registered: ‎03-03-2011
My Device: Playbook, Z10, Q10, Z30 with Files & Folders and Orbit of course
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: reports not working again

Still getting intermittent "Some error occured while generating repor." error...

Files & Folders, the unified file & cloud manager for PlayBook and BB10 with SkyDrive, SugarSync, Box, Dropbox, Google Drive, Google Docs. Free 3-day trial! - Jon Webb - Innovatology - Utrecht, Netherlands
Regular Contributor
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎05-23-2011
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: Developer

Re: reports not working again

Up one hour, down the next. Frustrating.....

Developer
Posts: 1,008
Registered: ‎12-12-2010
My Device: Passport (Red Limited Edition)
My Carrier: Mobile Vikings

Re: reports not working again

It is still not up to 100%, Distimo didn't update again last night.

-------------------------------------------
BlackBerry Certified Builder for Native Application Development -- Proud member of the Belgian BlackBerry Developer group
Samples: Park in Ghent
Feeling generous? Nominate me for BB Elite member!
BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,506
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Bell

Re: reports not working again

[ Edited ]

We're aware of these sporadic errors and are looking into it.  Apologies for the nonviolence inconvenience.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Developer
Posts: 6,473
Registered: ‎12-08-2010
My Device: PlayBook, Z10
My Carrier: none

Re: reports not working again


MSohm wrote:

We're aware of these sporadic errors and are looking into it.  Apologies for the nonviolence.



Nonviolence, ha ha! Is this a sign of things to come, now that PlayBooks OS 2.0 will have auto-correct?

 

(Or am I just missing a too-subtle-for-Thursday-morning joke?)


Peter Hansen -- (BB10 and dev-related blog posts at http://peterhansen.ca.)
Author of White Noise and Battery Guru for BB10 and for PlayBook | Get more from your battery!
Developer
Posts: 1,008
Registered: ‎12-12-2010
My Device: Passport (Red Limited Edition)
My Carrier: Mobile Vikings

Re: reports not working again

Some more aggression versus your servers won't help our reportsSmiley LOL

-------------------------------------------
BlackBerry Certified Builder for Native Application Development -- Proud member of the Belgian BlackBerry Developer group
Samples: Park in Ghent
Feeling generous? Nominate me for BB Elite member!
BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,506
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Bell

Re: reports not working again

Haha ooops.  Clicked on the wrong thing in the forum spellchecker.  Smiley Happy

 

But maybe we should get a a little more violent with these servers.  Smiley Wink

 

 

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Found a bug? Report it using Issue Tracker
Regular Contributor
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎04-19-2011
My Device: Bold 9700
My Carrier: Three Mobile

Re: reports not working again

When it was working, there was an annoying new bug. After you click "Generate Chart", the Start / End date changes from say:

 

From: 05/01/12

To: 01/12/12

 

to:

 

From: 01/05/12

To: 12/01/12

 

So when you bring up the calendar again, it will move all the way to December 2012.

 

It also loses focus of the selected product, so you have to click it again before generating a report successfully.

 

One more thing - if there is only one product in the list, could the report generator just select it by default?

 

 

Highlighted
Regular Contributor
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎04-19-2011
My Device: Bold 9700
My Carrier: Three Mobile

Re: reports not working again


MSohm wrote:

The typo is already scheduled to be fixed in the next release.  The update last week was just a hot fix to resolve the reporting issue.

 

But thanks for letting us know.


What about the "Some error occured while generating repor."

Note: There's two typos in there Smiley Happy