Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry World

Reply
Contributor
Ashraful
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎02-13-2010
My Device: 9700 Bold
My Carrier: Orange
Accepted Solution

APN is not specified

Hey all. I am presented with a weird problem with the App World in my bold 9700. At times when I try to open the App world I get the error:

 

APN is not specified

 

However at times restarting the phone works and at times it doesn't. Does it have something to do with the mobile network's availability or is this exclusively a APP World issue?

 

Any light into the matter would be greatly appreciated!

 

My phone: Bold 9700

Carrier: Orange UK with unlimited blackberry interent plan

 

Regards

Ash

وأعتقد أن في واحد والله وحده
Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 85,166
Likes: 23,028
Solutions: 5,925
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: APN is not specified

http://www.blackberryfaq.com/index.php/What_are_the_TCP_and_APN_settings%3F




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Clarkie70
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-13-2010
My Device: Bold 9700

Re: APN is not specified

Hi,

 

I have had my 9700 for 4 days and woke this morning to find I have exactly the same problem as Ashraful. I am also on Orange in the UK with internet plan. The Appworld loaded once today and then says APN is not specified. Have turned phone off and on but problem persists.

 

Any help would be appreciated.

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 85,166
Likes: 23,028
Solutions: 5,925
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: APN is not specified

Well, coming from both of you, there could be some BIS server issue in the UK/EU.

 

Have you tried setting the APN as directed above?




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
Ashraful
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎02-13-2010
My Device: 9700 Bold
My Carrier: Orange

Re: APN is not specified

[ Edited ]

Hello JSanders! After a lot of chit chat with the Orange (UK) tech support they were able to sort out the APN settings. The settings are as follows:

 

APN settings should be enabled.

APN authentication box should be checked.

 

APN: orangeinternet

Username: user

Password: pass

 

Would be alot of help to people if the list of APN settings were updated to include Orange (UK) as well.

 

Regards

Ash

وأعتقد أن في واحد والله وحده
Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 85,166
Likes: 23,028
Solutions: 5,925
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: APN is not specified

Updated now.

 

So, adding the correct APN settings on your BlackBerry did solved the issue?

 

Thanks!




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
Ashraful
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎02-13-2010
My Device: 9700 Bold
My Carrier: Orange

Re: APN is not specified

Yes sir! So far I havent had any problems. If I do I will keep this thread updated.

 

Thanks again for your help.

 

Appreciated.


Ash

وأعتقد أن في واحد والله وحده
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Clarkie70
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-13-2010
My Device: Bold 9700

Re: APN is not specified

Hi,

 

I didn't do anything as I couldn't find the correct settings on the first solution. It started working later that evening but stopped again the next day. I put in the settings that Ash found and hey presto it works. My partner had the same problem so we are both happy bunnies now.

 

Thank you

Please use plain text.
New Member
mick_bailey
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-10-2010
My Device: Bold 9700
My Carrier: Orange

Re: APN is not specified

i contacted orange who provided me with the following APN settings

 

APN settings should be enabled.

APN authentication box should be checked.

 

APN: orangeinternet

Username: user

Password: pass

 

Only thing is that i have a blackberry data plan and using these settings will charge me for using the internet as i do not have an orange data plan! I am trying to stream a digital radio app but cannot do this without APN settings! The blackberry data plans dont have an APN excusive to orange users with this data plan! So if i wanna stream the radio app....its gonna cost me if i use Orange's APN settings!

 

Any help or advice?

 

Please use plain text.
New Member
Brianthebandit
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-16-2010
My Device: 9700
My Carrier: Orange uk

Re: APN is not specified

Top man thanks for sharing the settings.

Please use plain text.