Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry World

Reply
New Developer
demon_xxi
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎08-09-2009
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

AppWorld 2.0 is not available while in Roaming

Hello. 

 

I have AT&T data account in my BB and for all the time AppWorld was working for me. But after 2.0 upgrade or maybe just for last days I cannot run it any more. It says AppWorld is not available in my country. I suspect this because I'm currently in Ukraine and my phone is in roaming mode. But why should it work this way? Doesn't it detect my original device/plan country?

 

Also does it use BIS or BES cause I have both on my device and BES server is in Russia. But again it worked fine before with any settings and in any country.

 

Please advise. I need to access it. 

 

 

-Sergey

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,865
Likes: 22,681
Solutions: 5,840
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: AppWorld 2.0 is not available while in Roaming

It won't work in the Ukraine. You haven't said what model device, but it could connect over WiFi IF your BIS were detected. Otherwise, I just don't think so.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
spetnik
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-06-2010
My Device: Bold 9700
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: AppWorld 2.0 is not available while in Roaming

I am having the same issue (AT&T - USA customer, roaming in Israel). I am currently using BIS. If I would switch to my company's BES (located in the US), would that help?

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,865
Likes: 22,681
Solutions: 5,840
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: AppWorld 2.0 is not available while in Roaming

 


spetnik wrote:

I am having the same issue (AT&T - USA customer, roaming in Israel). I am currently using BIS. If I would switch to my company's BES (located in the US), would that help?


It is certainly worth a try!

 

Let us know.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
spetnik
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-06-2010
My Device: Bold 9700
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: AppWorld 2.0 is not available while in Roaming

Not sure about the "worth a try" :smileyhappy:. What would be the best way for me to find out before I make the switch?

 

Thanks

AJS

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,865
Likes: 22,681
Solutions: 5,840
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: AppWorld 2.0 is not available while in Roaming

 


spetnik wrote:

Not sure about the "worth a try" :smileyhappy:. What would be the best way for me to find out before I make the switch?

 

Thanks

AJS


 

You won't know until you try.

How do you propose this "switch"?




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
spetnik
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-06-2010
My Device: Bold 9700
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: AppWorld 2.0 is not available while in Roaming

Is there any way to get an official answer from RIM? What do you mean "propose this switch"?

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,865
Likes: 22,681
Solutions: 5,840
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: AppWorld 2.0 is not available while in Roaming

 


spetnik wrote:

Is there any way to get an official answer from RIM? What do you mean "propose this switch"?


 

You can call your carrier tech support and ask for a RIM level technician.

 

The "propose this switch" was in reference to your statement "make this switch".

How do you plan to switch?




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
spetnik
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-06-2010
My Device: Bold 9700
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: AppWorld 2.0 is not available while in Roaming

I meant "switch" to BES. I am currently on BIS using IMAP for mail. I can technically switch to BES (and would do so for AppWorld access), but do not wish to unless I know for sure that it will solve the problem.

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,865
Likes: 22,681
Solutions: 5,840
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: AppWorld 2.0 is not available while in Roaming

I don't know that it will solve the problem.

 

What model do you have, do you have WiFi, if you connect using WiFi and turn off your mobile network, that could help the device recognize your BIS connection.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.