Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry World

Reply
Contributor
spetnik
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-06-2010
My Device: Bold 9700

Re: AppWorld 2.0 is not available while in Roaming

I have a 9700. I do have wifi, and it seems that I can access AppWorld with my mobile connection off. I wonder why that is? 

JSanders
Posts: 86,601
Likes: 23,200
Solutions: 5,993
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: AppWorld 2.0 is not available while in Roaming

Because the WiFi connection (back to the states) is recognizing your BIS account.

Roaming on the Israeli carrier is not recognizing it. Do you have an internation data plan on your ATT account? if not, that's probably why, your roaming is just not connecting to data.

 

Anyway, I thought it would work over WiFi.... good luck.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
spetnik
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-06-2010
My Device: Bold 9700

Re: AppWorld 2.0 is not available while in Roaming

I do have an international plan. And when I do any web browsing, the web servers always detect my IP as being a RIM BIS IP. When BIS is down, I have no data.

JSanders
Posts: 86,601
Likes: 23,200
Solutions: 5,993
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: AppWorld 2.0 is not available while in Roaming

hmmm... I just don't know.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
spetnik
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-06-2010
My Device: Bold 9700

Re: AppWorld 2.0 is not available while in Roaming

I think BB App World may be using my cell tower to determine my location (the same way Google Apps uses it to display an approximate location when GPS is unavailable). My reasoning is that when my mobile connection is on - even when my data is going through wifi - BB App World blocks me. But when I turn the mobile connection off, it cannot gauge my location from the cell towers and therefore assumes that I am in the US. 

New Developer
demon_xxi
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎08-09-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: AppWorld 2.0 is not available while in Roaming

That's right. WiFi only works for me.

Though with WiFi still both BIS and BES work on my device.

Seems like RIM detects country by operator network code.

This in not correct since my operator is AT&T. Local carrier is just  roaming man in the middle. 

Anyway all the traffic goes to USA. What a heck?

 

it has to be setting to choose connection if it is so sensitive on country. 

 

 

-Sergey