Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry World

Reply
New Contributor
Samta-63224
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-23-2014
My Device: Blackberry Curve 8310

BlackBerry World Store Setup problems

Hi all,

When setting up the BB world store, I could not do the 3rd step of System Check, which was 'Upgrade your Software', as there was no button there to click. Hence I could not  go to the 'Terms and Conditions' section as the 'next' button was greyed out. The previous 2 steps 'Get the BB world Browswer plug-in' and 'Connect your smartphone' were fine. I am stuck on that page.

Why is this happening and how do I fix it? 

 

 

 

Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,767
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)

Re: BlackBerry World Store Setup problems

Hi and Welcome to the Community!

 

Please clarify...are you doing this on your PC with the BB connected via USB? Or on the BB standalone?

 

Thanks!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Samta-63224
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-23-2014
My Device: Blackberry Curve 8310

Re: BlackBerry World Store Setup problems

[ Edited ]

On the PC with BB connected vis USB.

 

I realised that the reason why I couldn't do the third step was because I already had bbworld fully downloaded!

 

However, I reached another problem when I was updated BBworld on the PC connected via USB. When I was trying to download a theme, this popped up:

 

Newer Blackberry World Version Required

To access BlackBerry World on the desktop, you must upgrade the version currently installed on your device. Would you like to upgrade now?

 

I clicked 'Install' and proceeded to update BBworld.

However, I have needed to repeatedly update it as this has been continuously popping up for 3+ times. My BBworld is 2.1.5.10. currently. The updates are not updating it, as I have tried.

Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,767
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)

Re: BlackBerry World Store Setup problems

With your BB not connected to your PC, please try this sequence on the BB:

1) Remove AppWorld from your BB

  • KB10040 How to view or remove installed applications on a BlackBerry smartphone
  • If it requests that you reboot the BB, do so

2) Do a Batt-Pull reboot (power on, remove battery, wait, insert battery, wait), even if redundant to the one you did in step 1.

3) Install (on your BB) a fresh copy of AppWorld

4) Do another Batt-Pull reboot

5) See if it now works.

Cheers!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Samta-63224
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-23-2014
My Device: Blackberry Curve 8310

Re: BlackBerry World Store Setup problems

Thanks for the tip. However, I can't seem to do that as my bb has brower configuration service book entries. My bb doesn't even have the browser app on it. 

 

I think I found out why the blackberry world wouldn't download properly onto my bb though. Mine is running on OS4, so I'll need to upgrade it before downloading bbworld. Thanks for the help.

Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,767
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)

Re: BlackBerry World Store Setup problems

Your suspicion is likely correct...OS4 is rather ancient, in technology-time. It also is possible that you are not subscribed to an adequate service plan from your mobile service provider...if you have an older OS, you may be restricted to an older BBWorld, which may well have had the requirement in place to have an adequate data plan from your carrier.

Let us know how you get on.

Cheers!

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code