Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry World

Reply
New Contributor
JacquieSamples
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-28-2008
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Firewall Error when trying to use new Apps from AppWorld

[ Edited ]

I have a BB Bold (non-enterprise).  When I try to register accounts with new apps from App World, like SlackerRadio, I get this  message:

" The application ... has attemtped to open a connection to a location inside the firewall and outside the firewall which is not allowed by your IT policy."

 

Since I do not have an enterprise BB, I am not aware of any IT policy or how I may adjust it.  Is anyone else having these sorts of issues?

 

Thanks,

Jacquie

 

  • Carrier : AT&T
  • BlackBerry Model : Bold
  • BlackBerry OS (Can be found in Options -> About) : v.4.6.0.167 (Platform 4.0.0.157)
  • Version of App World (Can be found by going into Options -> Advanced ->Applications) 1.0.0.28
  • BIS or BES (Personal Use or Corporate Use) : BIS

 

Message Edited by JacquieSamples on 04-10-2009 09:34 AM
Message Edited by JacquieSamples on 04-10-2009 09:35 AM
Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Technical Advisor (Retired)
BesManian_Devil
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎03-26-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Firewall Error when trying to use new Apps from AppWorld

JacquieSamples,

 

Just to be sure your BlackBerry does not have an IT policy try looking in Options -> Security -> General Settings then scroll down to see if there is anything listed next to the IT Policy Name field, if you see anything there even Default you have an IT policy.

 

This article also advises how to reset a firewall prompt you may have on your device:

 

http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/KB04050

 

Please let us know if this corrects your issue.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
JacquieSamples
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-28-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Firewall Error when trying to use new Apps from AppWorld

Thanks so much for your help.  This worked like a charm.

 

Have a good evening,

Jacquie

Please use plain text.