Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry World

Reply
New Member
OzzRox
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-02-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Monetary Symbol is Euro not US $

After upgrading to the new App World.  The denomination symbol in App World appears as EURO symbol not US Dollar ($).....

 

Cheers,

Gary

Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,290
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)

Re: Monetary Symbol is Euro not US $

Hi and Welcome to the Forums!

We are informed that RIM is aware of this issue and is working on it. In the meantime, if you are on VZW, then the work around is to remove your SIM from your BB. On VZW, the SIM is not needed for anything; I've been running without mine for months just fine. If you are not on VZW yet are on another CDMA carrier, you can try removing the SIM as well...but I am not positive that works OK with all other CDMA carriers. If you are not on a CDMA carrier, then we presently have no workaround for you.

If you are on any carrier other than VZW, please report post and identify your carrier so that RIM can more fully research the issue.

Thanks!

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
LuvOvDaGame
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-03-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Monetary Symbol is Euro not US $

Hello I'm new to this forum as well and have the same exact issue with my BB as well. In fact that is what brought me here looking for a solution. I have tried downgrading, also uninstalling and re-installing twice. I tried to login through Paypal and that didn't work. I then took out the sim card and that did the trick.

 

Is there any word on how long it may be until they get this fixed so I can put the sim card back in before I lose it?

Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,290
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)

Re: Monetary Symbol is Euro not US $


LuvOvDaGame wrote:

Hello I'm new to this forum as well and have the same exact issue with my BB as well. In fact that is what brought me here looking for a solution. I have tried downgrading, also uninstalling and re-installing twice. I tried to login through Paypal and that didn't work. I then took out the sim card and that did the trick.

 

Is there any word on how long it may be until they get this fixed so I can put the sim card back in before I lose it?


Hi and Welcome to the Forums!

 

Sorry, but at the moment we have no update beyond the current workarounds.

 

Good luck!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
LuvOvDaGame
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-03-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Monetary Symbol is Euro not US $


Hi and Welcome to the Forums!

 

Sorry, but at the moment we have no update beyond the current workarounds.

 

Good luck!


 

Hello and thanks. Do you work for RIM?

 

I was on another forum where someone showed me an easy fix to this. You will need a PayPal account to do it tho. You click on an app as if you were going to buy it, but before you even purchase the app it will pop up a window explaining that it will now switch to your monetary values. Click ok and back out of it and you will be all good again.

Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,290
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)

Re: Monetary Symbol is Euro not US $


LuvOvDaGame wrote:

Hello and thanks. Do you work for RIM?

 

 


Oh no no no no no...just another user "out there" who volunteers time here to try and help others out. BTW, the current remedy set has grown...

 



1) Log into MyWorld with your PayPal credentials...some have reported this to clear things up. Additionally, if you actually make a purchase attempt, it has been reported that the currency then shifts to match your PayPal currency.

2) Remove and re-install AppWorld.

3) If you are on VZW, then a work around is to remove your SIM from your BB. On VZW, the SIM is not needed for anything; I've been running without mine for months just fine.

4) If you are not on VZW yet are on another CDMA carrier, you can try removing the SIM as well...but I am not positive that works OK with all other CDMA carriers. If you are not on a CDMA carrier, then we presently have no workaround for you.

5) If these remedies don't work and/or you are on any carrier other than VZW, please post and identify your carrier so that RIM can more fully research the issue.



Cheers!

 


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
LuvOvDaGame
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-03-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Monetary Symbol is Euro not US $


sdgardne wrote:

LuvOvDaGame wrote:

Hello and thanks. Do you work for RIM?

 

 


Oh no no no no no...just another user "out there" who volunteers time here to try and help others out. BTW, the current remedy set has grown...

 



1) Log into MyWorld with your PayPal credentials...some have reported this to clear things up. Additionally, if you actually make a purchase attempt, it has been reported that the currency then shifts to match your PayPal currency.

2) Remove and re-install AppWorld.

3) If you are on VZW, then a work around is to remove your SIM from your BB. On VZW, the SIM is not needed for anything; I've been running without mine for months just fine.

4) If you are not on VZW yet are on another CDMA carrier, you can try removing the SIM as well...but I am not positive that works OK with all other CDMA carriers. If you are not on a CDMA carrier, then we presently have no workaround for you.

5) If these remedies don't work and/or you are on any carrier other than VZW, please post and identify your carrier so that RIM can more fully research the issue.



Cheers!

 


 

I am a VZW customer and if you just go about it to make the purchase without actually making one (you can if you want to, but all I'm saying is you don't have to) it will reset your values.

 

There's no need to remove and reinstall BlackBerry App World or remove your SIM card. It's very quick and simple. I would suggest trying this first before doing anything else as the other solutions either take time or don't work (such as removing and reinstalling BB App World, I tried it first and it did nothing to fix it). For the record, removing the SIM card does work though, however, that is more of a hassle then making (or not making, your choice) a purchase to reset it in a matter of seconds.

Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,290
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)

Re: Monetary Symbol is Euro not US $


LuvOvDaGame wrote:


I am a VZW customer and if you just go about it to make the purchase without actually making one (you can if you want to, but all I'm saying is you don't have to) it will reset your values.

 

There's no need to remove and reinstall BlackBerry App World or remove your SIM card. It's very quick and simple. I would suggest trying this first before doing anything else as the other solutions either take time or don't work (such as removing and reinstalling BB App World, I tried it first and it did nothing to fix it). For the record, removing the SIM card does work though, however, that is more of a hassle then making (or not making, your choice) a purchase to reset it in a matter of seconds.


Excellent! Thanks for validating it...hence the solution you recommend being the first in the list!

 

Cheers!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
LuvOvDaGame
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-03-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Monetary Symbol is Euro not US $

I tried all your solutions that I found regarding this issue here before finding out about the other one, so thank you.

 

On another note a bit off topic (my apologies), I was trying to send a question to in a PM, but apparently I'm not allowed to do that yet. My question is, do RIM techs come here to the forums or do they have a thread in which they do come to?

Please use plain text.
Contributor
StreetDocRN
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎08-01-2009
My Device: Bold 9650

Re: Monetary Symbol is Euro not US $

Hi,

 

I have the Tour on Verizon Wireless and had the same Euro problem.  Removing the sim card did the trick.  Everything is in dollars now.  Thanks for the tip.

 

Doc

Please use plain text.