Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Z10

Reply
Regular Contributor
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎11-15-2011
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Mobily SA
Accepted Solution

4G LTE Support

Is LTE support built-in within all Z10 devices? If yes, how to control it?

Shady E.
Egypt | Saudi Arabia
Developer
Posts: 124
Registered: ‎11-05-2011
My Device: Z10, Bold 9900
My Carrier: Smartone

Re: 4G LTE Support


sdemian wrote:

Is LTE support built-in within all Z10 devices? If yes, how to control it?


There are 4 models of Z10, STL-100-1, STL-100-2, STL-100-3 and STL-100-4. STL-100-1 doesn't support LTE, where the other 3 support different frequencies for different carriers/countries. You may refer to http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BlackBerry_Z10

 

Do you mean you want to disable LTE? In Setings -> Network Connections -> Mobile Network. You could choose 3G & 2G in Network Mode as to disable 4G, if you wish.

Forums Advisor III
Posts: 1,317
Registered: ‎02-28-2009
My Device: Torch, Bold, Play Book, and Bluetooth HS-700
My Carrier: BELL

Re: 4G LTE Support

I found using 3G instead of 4G for the phone made an appreciable improvement with the battery usage life between charging. For general email and browsing, watching news videos, and using Youtube, I found 3G fast enough. With my 4G Playbook I also turned it down to 3G. This also made an improvement for battery usage.

 

.

Jerry G.
Forums Advisor III
Posts: 1,822
Registered: ‎05-29-2013
My Device: BlackBerry Z30
My Carrier: Bell

Re: 4G LTE Support

Turn of LTE kills your battery! 3G is way to go!!
_______________________________________________________
Want to contract me? You can follow me on Twitter @RobGambino

Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.
Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎07-09-2013
My Device: z10
My Carrier: stc

Re: 4G LTE Support

That is really funny

If I know it doesn't support 4G will never buy it and the problem sales never advice things like that because they want just to sell 

All BlackBerry came to Saudi Arabia don't support LTE for Z10 but it is for Q10 this is what I know

 

but I do have comments why they need to do 4 model 

 

offfffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff of of of so sad of all devices company

 

just FYI

 

 

regards,

Emad

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-21-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: EE

Re: 4G LTE Support

Sadly NO... all Z10s were not born equal.  But Blackberry didn't make this clear when it was launched.  All searches for Z10 showed it was a 4G capable phone.  In India and Middle East they didn't bother to say that it wasn't 4G.  As a result I bought a Z10 and then moved to the UK only to discover it wasn't 4G.  I'm horrified at the wasted money - I bascially got a 3G phone at the same price as a 4G one but without the functionality and Bberry customer service won't answer me about it.

 

Mis sold in the launch countries.  So beware.. not all Z10s are equal and you'd better check in Settings which one you have.

Contributor
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎04-24-2013
My Device: z10
My Carrier: t mobile

Re: 4G LTE Support

My z10 gets and handles LTE

New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-25-2014
My Device: q5
My Carrier: o2

Re: 4G LTE Support

Hi,

 

I had an issue with 4g not being visible on my bb4, but after I have upgraded firmware, the option 4g appeared in the menu.

 

I guess you only need to update the firmware to get 4g 

 

hope this helps!

 

cheers,

Robert