Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Z10

Reply
JSanders
Posts: 83,958
Likes: 22,807
Solutions: 5,880
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: APN setting on the BB z10

And normally you won't even need the ATT SIM if you're unlocked and just remove the SIM card (and sometimes disable the location settings).




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
royalblue32
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎02-26-2013
My Device: BB Z10
My Carrier: Thats a good question

Re: APN setting on the BB z10

Cyberjamb I just put in an AT&T sim and the apn is still grayed out after the upgrade not sure why i did not get the same result as you. Bb are creating a right mess out of this as imagine international travel putting in local sims will be upgrading and downgrading the device all over the place. I guess I will keep my tmobile sim in and wait for mnvo support.
Please use plain text.
Contributor
cyberjamb
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎03-21-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: APN setting on the BB z10

Weird... did you reboot with the tmobile sim?

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 83,958
Likes: 22,807
Solutions: 5,880
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: APN setting on the BB z10


cyberjamb wrote:

I upgraded to 116 and now the apn settings are not grayed out for Tmobile or any of my sim cards. That tells me that it was a Blackberry setting in the software. 


So, it's not locked on Tmo, and is locked on ATT after RoyalBlue's upgrade to the exact same OS?

 

And so many other users have reported the APN settings unlocked after removing or using a different SIM card.

 

Seems to me... oh well.

 

Cyberjamb, what other SIM cards have you tried in it and show the APN unlocked?




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
royalblue32
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎02-26-2013
My Device: BB Z10
My Carrier: Thats a good question

Re: APN setting on the BB z10

Ok I got it. Guys this works !! If you are not on AT&T and want to unlock your apn put in an AT&T SIM card upgrade to the latest and then put back in your other sim. The apn is now unlocked. I was looking at the AT&T after upgrade. Works perfect thank cyber jamb I guess bb are in catchup to get this sorted on all networks but at least it looks like they are sorting it out Cool not I have mms on solavei woohoo
Please use plain text.
Contributor
cyberjamb
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎03-21-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: APN setting on the BB z10

I'm updating my wife's Z10 now. I will report back on the results of that.

 

I've tried ATT, Tmobile, straight talk, simple mobile, swisscom, Wind italy

Please use plain text.
Contributor
royalblue32
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎02-26-2013
My Device: BB Z10
My Carrier: Thats a good question

Re: APN setting on the BB z10

Spoke to soon sorry guys looks like it is half way there as some of the settings are still missing I think I will just wait for the roll out. I doubt it will be much longer
Please use plain text.
Contributor
cyberjamb
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎03-21-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: APN setting on the BB z10

Great! Glad i could help you!

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 83,958
Likes: 22,807
Solutions: 5,880
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: APN setting on the BB z10

The latest ATT update was for ATT only, and won't be rolling out to other carriers.

The BB10 program manager have stated this publicly. It was an ATT update only.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
royalblue32
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎02-26-2013
My Device: BB Z10
My Carrier: Thats a good question

Re: APN setting on the BB z10

Glad to hear it
Please use plain text.