Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Z10

Reply
New Contributor
Emmerly
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-31-2013
My Device: Currently 8520
My Carrier: Orange

BB10 - Will it work with Microsoft Exchange Server 2003?

I'm really excited about the launch of the Q10 but I'm not sure if it will work with my work server, all previous blackberry's work through BIS and I understand that they have are stopping that for BB10. The server is Exchange 2003, service pack 1. We haven't been able to get Samsung or apple phones connected to it without the hassle of different email accounts and email forwarders. We don't want to upgrade to service pack 2 incase it causes issues elsewhere.

 

Blackberry has always worked straight away so I'm really hoping BB10 will. Does anybody know if it will?

 

Thanks

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Technical Advisor (Retired)
hatchback
Posts: 2,283
Registered: ‎09-09-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10 Smartphone

Re: BB10 - Will it work with Microsoft Exchange Server 2003?

[ Edited ]

Hey Emmerly,

Welcome to the BlackBerry® Support Community Forums.

Yes you can use the BlackBerry 10 smartphone with an Microsoft Exchange 2003 server, depending on the type of email you use, the BlackBerry 10 smartphone supports ActiveSync, IMAP, POP, and SMTP.

 

Let us know if you have any other questions.

 

-HB

 

Come follow your BlackBerry Technical Team on twitter! @BlackBerryHelp

Be sure to click Kudos! for those who have helped you.

Click Solution? for posts that have solved your issue(s)!

Please use plain text.
Guru III
knottyrope
Posts: 29,958
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: BB10 - Will it work with Microsoft Exchange Server 2003?

[ Edited ]

I conncted to my 2003 exchange server just like any other EAS device

 

i know a friend that connected to Lotus notes with Traveller installed

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 5.0.4 and BES 10.2.2 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2008


Please use plain text.
Guru I
Xandrex
Posts: 18,380
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 10.1.0.2312 / Playbook 2.1 / 8900 5.0
My Carrier: Vodafone France (SFR) & B&You

Re: BB10 - Will it work with Microsoft Exchange Server 2003?

If currently you have an Exchange server, and the BlackBerry phones are connected to it using BIS, then you have the same features with the Z10 devices. the difference is that it will not go through BIS, but through Exchange ActiveSync (emails, calendar, contacts).



The search box on top-right of this page is your true friend, and the public Knowledge Base too:
Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
Jjang
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎02-06-2013
My Device: Z30
My Carrier: TELUS

Re: BB10 - Will it work with Microsoft Exchange Server 2003?

On your bb10 in the settings. Do you set the mail to push or do you set a manual syncing interval? Same cnfig as above. Exchange 2003. Tks. James
Please use plain text.
Contributor
Bulbous
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-13-2011
My Device: Bold 9780 bridged to Playbook 16G
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: BB10 - Will it work with Microsoft Exchange Server 2003?

I think the key part of the question here is "Exchange 2003".

 

Exchange 2003 does not have ActiveSync, and does not have usually have POP3 or IMAP enabled.

 

So, if we have EX2K3 and BES5, our only recourse is POP3/IMAP?

 

Is this accurate?

Please use plain text.