Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Z10

Reply
Forums Advisor I
Arsen
Posts: 568
Registered: ‎02-05-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10, Blackberry Playbook 64gb
My Carrier: Bell
Accepted Solution

Can't setup my POP account on the Z10

I have setup my POP account on all other phones, inlcuding all my ol blackberry,, windows, etc.. but when I try to setup a POP account, IMAP account, I keep getting

 

server wxxxst.net for your account emailaddress@email is not responding check your setting and try again..

Please use plain text.
Forums Advisor III
rat-7
Posts: 1,397
Registered: ‎04-19-2011
My Device: BlackBerry Z10 + Z30 + Playbook 64
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Can't setup my POP account on the Z10


Arsen wrote:

I have setup my POP account on all other phones, inlcuding all my ol blackberry,, windows, etc.. but when I try to setup a POP account, IMAP account, I keep getting

 

server wxxxst.net for your account emailaddress@email is not responding check your setting and try again..


I do not know how you did the setup, but I would suggest that you try to just input your email address and password and not do anything else, it has worked for me many times on the Playbook and the setup of the Z10 is very similar 

---------------------------------------------
Using the Playbook and the Z10 and the Z30 and loving them

Martin
Please use plain text.
Forums Advisor I
Arsen
Posts: 568
Registered: ‎02-05-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10, Blackberry Playbook 64gb
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Can't setup my POP account on the Z10

[ Edited ]

I found a solution.. I read this post ( KB29891 ). The cause of the problem is that some providers like bell and rogers dont allow certain outgoing smtp mail servers. The work around was to use my website mail server for incoming mail and use my rogers smtp.broadband.rogers.com for my outgoing smtp server.  I use this setting on my outlook 2010 also.. it worked.

Please use plain text.
Forums Advisor I
Arsen
Posts: 568
Registered: ‎02-05-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10, Blackberry Playbook 64gb
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Can't setup my POP account on the Z10

Martin,

 

I don't think you understand what you are saying.. email address and password don't work for my web site and host server. I have to setup an advanced POP account..

Please use plain text.
Forums Advisor III
rat-7
Posts: 1,397
Registered: ‎04-19-2011
My Device: BlackBerry Z10 + Z30 + Playbook 64
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Can't setup my POP account on the Z10


Arsen wrote:

Martin,

 

I don't think you understand what you are saying.. email address and password don't work for my web site and host server. I have to setup an advanced POP account..


I use the POP3 from Rogers and the way that I set it up on my Z10 today was the way I told you about in my previous message and it found the right settings on its own 

---------------------------------------------
Using the Playbook and the Z10 and the Z30 and loving them

Martin
Please use plain text.
Forums Advisor I
Arsen
Posts: 568
Registered: ‎02-05-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10, Blackberry Playbook 64gb
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Can't setup my POP account on the Z10

Martin,

 

It works with POP3 for rogers account, but I don't use my rogers account for my work email. I have a custom web site and custom emails and the mail server is hosted at my web site. With rogers account's by typing the email address and password, it has Auto Discovery, Auto config, but with my mail server, I have to manualy setup my Incoming mail server, outgoing mail server, the ports..

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
jefferyh
Posts: 156
Registered: ‎11-20-2011
My Device: playbook 16g,32g, 64g, 2-z10's
My Carrier: rogers

Re: Can't setup my POP account on the Z10

I have cogeco and had issues setting up my pop account too.

 

got it solved this morning after many phone calls.  It is a simple fix.

 

Description  cogeco

 

no display name

 

user name was my address without cogeco.ca

 

your email address you are using. self explanitory

 

your email password easy

 

server addess    pop.cogeco.ca

 

port  110 

 

use ssl     off

 

smtp user name    leave blank

 

update smtp password   leave blank

 

 

smtp server address (this was the key)    smtp.rogerswirelessdata.com

 

smtp port    25

 

smtp encryption    off

 

 

hope this helps.  This should work for any pop account with the obvious changes

 

for server address I used pop.cogeco.ca

Please use plain text.
Contributor
arkaroola
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎02-06-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Can't setup my POP account on the Z10

I ran into the same issue, but on Telus, and had to use smtp.telus.net
BUT - I can only send emails when I am on the wireless network.  It will not work when I am on Wifi.  The work-around is to go in and change the smtp server to the cogeco smtp server when I am using my home router connected to cogeco.  Cogeco does not support logging into their smtp server with the email and password.
jefferyh wrote:

I have cogeco and had issues setting up my pop account too.

 

got it solved this morning after many phone calls.  It is a simple fix.

 

Description  cogeco

 

no display name

 

user name was my address without cogeco.ca

 

your email address you are using. self explanitory

 

your email password easy

 

server addess    pop.cogeco.ca

 

port  110 

 

use ssl     off

 

smtp user name    leave blank

 

update smtp password   leave blank

 

 

smtp server address (this was the key)    smtp.rogerswirelessdata.com

 

smtp port    25

 

smtp encryption    off

 

 

hope this helps.  This should work for any pop account with the obvious changes

 

for server address I used pop.cogeco.ca


 

Please use plain text.
Forums Advisor I
Arsen
Posts: 568
Registered: ‎02-05-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10, Blackberry Playbook 64gb
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Can't setup my POP account on the Z10

My web host admin, contacted me today and said that  with your own smtp email site, it blocks it, that is a CRTC requirement.   You can not use your own SMTP server for outbound mail from your personal home internet connection.   You could be hacking or using a relay...   Therefore they filter your traffic this way and can report abusers

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
jefferyh
Posts: 156
Registered: ‎11-20-2011
My Device: playbook 16g,32g, 64g, 2-z10's
My Carrier: rogers

Re: Can't setup my POP account on the Z10

I'm not sure what you mean.  I'm using rogers smtp not my own.  It is working and that is all I care.

Please use plain text.