Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Z10

Reply
Contributor
StrawBerryZ10
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎04-21-2013
My Device: BlackBerry Z10

GoDaddy with Exchange ActiveSync

When setting up Hosted Exchange with GoDaddy, they have an extra $2.99 add-on specifically for BlackBerry connectivity.

Given that the Z10 supports Exchange ActiveSync, should it be possible to get this to work without the "BlackBerry" add-on?

Please use plain text.
Forums Advisor III
drewread
Posts: 1,035
Registered: ‎02-07-2013
My Device: Z10

Re: GoDaddy with Exchange ActiveSync

I would contact GoDaddy and ask what that extra connectivity buys you. :smileyhappy:

 

I assume that it is for 'legacy' BBOS devices and not BB10 devices, but they will be able to answer that for you.

 

All you need is Exchange ActiveSync, last I checked they did not offer BES10 service at goDaddy.

-: DrewRead :-
Can't find an app on Blackberry World yet? Tweet the developer and ask when they will #GetWithBB10 !!
"Like it" if you like it. :smileyhappy:
Please use plain text.
Contributor
StrawBerryZ10
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎04-21-2013
My Device: BlackBerry Z10

Re: GoDaddy with Exchange ActiveSync

I just called them up- spoke to someone who actually knew what he was talking about.

 

It sounds like Exchange ActiveSync is not quite as good as regular Exchange. Sometimes it doesn't sync certain things perfectly, as fully-fledged Exchange can.

 

Even though ActiveSync probably would work, I want the best possible experience for this account, so I've gone for the "BlackBerry" $2.99/ month add-on. I feel like it make sense to me now :smileyhappy:

Please use plain text.
Guru III
knottyrope
Posts: 30,405
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: GoDaddy with Exchange ActiveSync


StrawBerryZ10 wrote:

I just called them up- spoke to someone who actually knew what he was talking about.

 

It sounds like Exchange ActiveSync is not quite as good as regular Exchange. Sometimes it doesn't sync certain things perfectly, as fully-fledged Exchange can.

 

Even though ActiveSync probably would work, I want the best possible experience for this account, so I've gone for the "BlackBerry" $2.99/ month add-on. I feel like it make sense to me now :smileyhappy:



he is wrong, active sync is a mobile connector for exchange

 

we have 250 users on EAS with out issue

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 5.0.4 and BES 10.2.2 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2008


Please use plain text.
Contributor
StrawBerryZ10
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎04-21-2013
My Device: BlackBerry Z10

Re: GoDaddy with Exchange ActiveSync

"he is wrong, active sync is a mobile connector for exchange"

 

He was indeed wrong, and the GoDaddy rep I spoke to just now refunded that $2.99/ month I paid yesterday and got me hooked up with ActiveSync.

It's working great now :smileyhappy:

Please use plain text.