Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Z10

Reply
Contributor
atlarep
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-07-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Issue with BlackBerry Hub

I have an issue with my new Z10. The Blackberry Hub is a great innovation, but there are things i don't want to see in it (txt, facebook, BBM, etc.)

I tried removing some of these things in the Settings --> Hub Management option, however, they are still showing in the Hub. In fact, I just upgraded to 10.1, and now I see more stuff in it (whatsapp, etc).

 

Can someone help me with this?

 

Thanks

Please use plain text.
Contributor
jaylenbledsoe
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎02-22-2013
My Device: Dev Alpha B
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Issue with BlackBerry Hub

Yes, I'd be glad to help you. Are you using the official 10.1 Release?
Please use plain text.
Contributor
atlarep
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-07-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: Issue with BlackBerry Hub

Thanks!

And Yes, I am.

Please use plain text.
Contributor
jaylenbledsoe
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎02-22-2013
My Device: Dev Alpha B
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Issue with BlackBerry Hub

Since updating your OS, have you tried to restart your z10?

Please use plain text.
Contributor
atlarep
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-07-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: Issue with BlackBerry Hub

Yes. I did it once.
Please use plain text.
Contributor
jaylenbledsoe
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎02-22-2013
My Device: Dev Alpha B
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Issue with BlackBerry Hub

So, when you go through Hub -> Settings --> Hub Management the changes aren't being recorded or made?

If they're not being made, I can submit an Issue to the Blackberry Issue Tracker.

-----------------------------------------
If I have been of any help, like all my replies! :smileyvery-happy:
Please use plain text.
Contributor
jaylenbledsoe
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎02-22-2013
My Device: Dev Alpha B
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Issue with BlackBerry Hub

Can you provide me with your OS Version?

OS Version can be found in Settings --> About
Please use plain text.
Contributor
atlarep
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-07-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: Issue with BlackBerry Hub

Exactly, when I make the changes in 'Hub Management', they don't seem to be made or recorded.
Software release says: 10.1.2006
Please use plain text.
Contributor
atlarep
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-07-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: Issue with BlackBerry Hub

Hi,
Can anybody else help me with this?
Any ideas?

I don't know what to do.
Please use plain text.
Contributor
atlarep
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-07-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: Issue with BlackBerry Hub

Hi,
Can anybody else help me with this?
Any ideas?

I don't know what to do.

Please use plain text.