Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Z10

Reply
New Member
scottfree123
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-11-2013
My Device: Z10

Migrate to new Z10 using Media Card

Have a Z10 and need to migrate to a new Z10.  Is there any way to only use the media card to migrate?

Forums Advisor III
fyip
Posts: 2,010
Registered: ‎10-26-2013
My Device: Z10

Re: Migrate to new Z10 using Media Card

Super Contributor
allaineem
Posts: 285
Registered: ‎09-10-2013
My Device: z10

Re: Migrate to new Z10 using Media Card

Yes you can use the device switch option under set up on the z10. Once done remove the SD card and insert it to the other device and go to set up again select device switch but this time select restore from SD card or  transfer files from SD card.

Let me know if this help.
JSanders
Posts: 86,430
Likes: 23,181
Solutions: 5,982
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Migrate to new Z10 using Media Card

Make certain you have LOTS of free space on your Media Card.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Member
scottfree123
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-11-2013
My Device: Z10

Re: Migrate to new Z10 using Media Card

Thank you for your responses. 

 

Both phones don't have a network connection or connection to a PC.  I'm migrating from Z10 to a Z10.  Both have BB OS Ver 10.1. 

 

When I launch Setup > Device Switch, I see several migration options.  None fit my scenario exactly.  But the closest is "Upgrading from Blackberry Device Software 7.0 or 7.1? You can use a media card".  Selecting this option takes me to some very basic Offline help about usability. 

 

Suggestions?

JSanders
Posts: 86,430
Likes: 23,181
Solutions: 5,982
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Migrate to new Z10 using Media Card

Ah, no, you can't use the Media card for Z10 to Z10 transfer, sorry.

 

You can't connect to a PC and then backup and restore, or use the Link Software switch device?




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Forums Advisor III
fyip
Posts: 2,010
Registered: ‎10-26-2013
My Device: Z10

Re: Migrate to new Z10 using Media Card

[ Edited ]

scottfree123    Did you find a way yet ?  Do you have both phones ?  Post back if you still need help I will tell you another way, but you need a network connection.

JSanders
Posts: 86,430
Likes: 23,181
Solutions: 5,982
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Migrate to new Z10 using Media Card

the user can connect to a PC and then backup and restore, or use the Link Software switch device, or he can use an from App World such as PIM Backup.

 

The isn't much else to do.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code