Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Z10

Reply
Contributor
shomoslee
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎12-06-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: T-Mobile

RESTORE CONTACTS TO BLACKBERRY Z10

[ Edited ]

Greetings to everyone!

 

I lost my BB Z10 (unlocked version) a few days ago and i bought another one. i have tried to restore my contacts from my old BB Z10 onto my new BB Z10 but keep getting the message "Restore did not complete" .

Please somebody help me. I use windows 8 HP laptop and i have only one phone.

 

Regards,

 

Sola

Please use plain text.
Contributor
shomoslee
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎12-06-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: RESTORE CONTACTS TO BLACKBERRY Z10

Greetings to everyone!

 

I lost my BB Z10 (unlocked version) a few days ago and i bought another one. i have tried to restore my contacts from my old BB Z10 onto my new BB Z10 but keep getting the message "Restore did not complete" 

 

Please somebody help me. I use windows 8 HP laptop and i have only one phone.

 

Regards,

 

Sola

Please use plain text.
Forums Advisor III
fyip
Posts: 1,503
Registered: ‎10-26-2013
My Device: BlackBerry Z10

Re: RESTORE CONTACTS TO BLACKBERRY Z10

Please use plain text.
Contributor
shomoslee
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎12-06-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: RESTORE CONTACTS TO BLACKBERRY Z10

thanks fyip!

 

but i have just 1 phone.  all my cantacts and data are backed up on my laptop.  what i want is to restore from my laptop to my new phone but its not allowing me. i have no old phone.

 

sola

Please use plain text.
Forums Advisor III
fyip
Posts: 1,503
Registered: ‎10-26-2013
My Device: BlackBerry Z10

Re: RESTORE CONTACTS TO BLACKBERRY Z10

I am not sure you can do that, actually what you want to do is transfer data, not restore data.

If you do not get a answer here soon start a new post.

 

I cannot tell you about BB Link because I do not use it for the reason being it has many issues.

I back up my data using BB Device Manager and BB Protect.

 

If you never enabled BB Protect on your old phone do it for the new one, and use it to back up your data.

When you enable BB Protect you can track your lost phone, maybe even find it, delete all data, lock it and transfer data to your new phone, even put a message to the finder how to contact you.

 

Check here on your new phone,......Settings, BlackBerry Protect, turn it ON, then turn ON Location Services, Traffic Data Collection and Location-based Ads do not have to be ON.

 

 

Please use plain text.
Contributor
shomoslee
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎12-06-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: RESTORE CONTACTS TO BLACKBERRY Z10

Thank you so much flip. You've been very helpful. I have turned on the BlackBerry Protect and will try your way of back up. I really appreciate your assistance. 

 

Sola 

Please use plain text.
Forums Advisor III
fyip
Posts: 1,503
Registered: ‎10-26-2013
My Device: BlackBerry Z10

Re: RESTORE CONTACTS TO BLACKBERRY Z10

[ Edited ]

Your welcome, here is a small intro on BB Protect and as you know, no need to download since you already have it but others reading this post and do not have it can download.

 

 http://worldwide.blackberry.com/ap/protect/

 

Just a reminder, turn on Location Services also if you did not.

 

Better luck in the future !

Please use plain text.