Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Z10

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-27-2014
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Swapping sim cards in a Z10

I have to switch to a US sim card (yes, my phone is unlocked, yes I changed my settings) when I arrive in the US this afternoon. Will my contacts on my Z10 transfer over to my new sim? Are they even stored on the sim? I don't want to get there and have to reformat everything for just a 4 day stay.

Posts: 90,644
Likes: 23,983
Solutions: 6,170
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Swapping sim cards in a Z10

Likely, hopefully, your contacts are not stored on your SIM card, it's not a good place to keep them.

If you open your Contacts app, tap the bottom left tab "All" > tap "SIM" and see if they are there?




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-27-2014
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Swapping sim cards in a Z10

There is nothing under "sim". I presume this is good?!

 

Also... will I have to reprogram my phone with my email addresses I want access to? Clearly I have NO idea where this information goes in my phone.... lol

Posts: 90,644
Likes: 23,983
Solutions: 6,170
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Swapping sim cards in a Z10

Look again in our Contacts, same tab, what other choices do you have other than ALL and SIM card? (any email addresses?).

 

You will not need to re-program with your email addresses.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-27-2014
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Swapping sim cards in a Z10

I have: favourites, groups, bbm, bbm video, linkedIn, facebook, twitter, hotmail, sophiefitness, rogers.

 

It appears to be populating my contacts from my social media/email contacts. Clever little thing Smiley Wink

Posts: 90,644
Likes: 23,983
Solutions: 6,170
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Swapping sim cards in a Z10

You should be perfectly fine then.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-27-2014
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Swapping sim cards in a Z10

Thanks so much!