Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Z10

Reply
New Contributor
Senex
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-27-2013
My Device: Z10

Z10 Email setup problem - lineone.net

Have a lineone.net email account, now owned by TalkTalk in the UK

Having tried various ports and servers I am unable to set it up as an email account on the Z10, despite it working perfectly on older blackberry phones.The error message states pop server/ IMAP server is not responding,whichever I try

Talk Talk have port list but again these prove fruitless; I wondered if anyone else had come across this.

Thanks

 

 

Please use plain text.
Administrator (Retired)
FozzieBear
Posts: 2,372
Registered: ‎07-13-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10 smartphone

Re: Z10 Email setup problem - lineone.net

Hello Senex,

Welcome to the BlackBerry Support Community.

 

You may want to test this email in the Email Account Validation Tool.

 

The following article will provide you with instruction on how to do this:

http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/KB33444

 

These steps may provide you with information regarding your account that will assist in resolving the issue for you.

 

Cheers,


-FB


 


Come follow your BlackBerry Technical Team on Twitter! @BlackBerryHelp


Be sure to click Kudos! for those who have helped you.

Click "Accept as a Solution" for posts that have solved your issue(s)!


Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Senex
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-27-2013
My Device: Z10

Re: Z10 Email setup problem - lineone.net

Thanks for the link.

 

I tried all options using that tool but they all fail.

 

Oddly when I connect from a vodafone nokia lumia windows phone it works fine, and when I connect using an old  blackberry device ( pre blackberry 10) it works fine

 

 

Any other suggestions.? vodafone cannot help and this is affecting business.

 

Thanks

 

 

Please use plain text.
Trusted Contributor
rambo47
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎09-28-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Q10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Z10 Email setup problem - lineone.net

[ Edited ]

Try changing the encryption from SSL to StartTLS on your SMTP server settings. You might also try either port 25 or 587 for SMTP. 

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Senex
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-27-2013
My Device: Z10

Re: Z10 Email setup problem - lineone.net

Thanks for suggestion, sadly no resolution.

 

Had about 3hrs of vodafone tech calls so far and on , second handset, fully updated with latest software.

 

Vodafone unable to help thus far and last conversation seemed to reach a mutual conclusion that there is a fundamental issue with the blackberry programming, as works fine on other devices both old blackberry and windows lumia.

 

 

Happy to  talk to any blackberry engineers reading, as may be indicative of a wider conditional bug.

 

Sadly it seems that after a decade with blackberry one must defect to windows lumia.

 

Thanks all for your suggestions.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Please use plain text.
Forums Advisor I
LCromwell
Posts: 516
Registered: ‎04-29-2010
My Device: Z10-STL100-4
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Z10 Email setup problem - lineone.net

Seneca I too had trouble setting my email up on the Z10. I removed the auto filled in places here :
Under SMTP leave blank same on the next one then in last line mine says SMTP server address and it is auto filled in. Just a long shot but I never had to do this on my Torch.
THE BITTERNESS OF POOR QUALITY, LINGERS LONG AFTER THE CHEAPNESS OF PRICE, IS SOON FORGOTTEN.
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
elgarchopin
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-27-2013
My Device: BlackBerry Q10
My Carrier: EE

Re: Z10 Email setup problem - lineone.net

LCromwell, this is fantastic! What you just said worked like a dream! I was on the verge of giving up the Q10 and going back to OS7 Blackberry Curve 9720 when I gave it a last shot. 

 

As you said, fill in only the pop fields, then delete the auto filled email address and password for the smtp part. Fill in the smtp address, and that's it.

 

Thank you for the solution and I will share it with other frustrated users.

Please use plain text.