Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Z10

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎08-01-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Z10 Stopped Working after updating to 4181 MR Update!


scrannel wrote:

But where did you actually BUY the phone? 


Yeah that's where this all falls apart. I bought it from someone who works for Telus Canada (the carrier) and was given the phone as a gift from the company. She sold it to me because she already likes her Q10. Telus is saying that because the phone was never actually sold by them, it's not their problem... But they're the guys who distributed it.

 

Such a messy situation. I've just purchased ANOTHER Z10, this time directly from Telus (rip off $650+tax) so there is no confusions. I have 14 days for full refund to bring it back if I can get the other one working again.

Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎07-19-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10
My Carrier: Movistar

Re: Z10 Stopped Working after updating to 4181 MR Update!

Dave

You are a brave person to purchase another Z10, I don't think i have the courage to do so. My next phone will NOT be a Blackberry

Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎08-01-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Z10 Stopped Working after updating to 4181 MR Update!

This is probably the best phone I've ever used. I really enjoy using it and it makes everything I do that much easier. Especially at work. The OS is so friendly.

 

It was worth buying another, it will do me well these next 2-3 years.

Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎07-19-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10
My Carrier: Movistar

Re: Z10 Stopped Working after updating to 4181 MR Update!

good for you Dave

In the mean time, if i find a way to fix the Z10 i will let you know, and hoping you do the same

 

Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎08-01-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Z10 Stopped Working after updating to 4181 MR Update!

I will let you know if I get any luck... But your Z10 has more luck than mine. At least you can get yours to boot and show you messages and stuff. Mine has no life at all except for 2 red LED flashes.

Posts: 90,333
Likes: 23,925
Solutions: 6,163
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Z10 Stopped Working after updating to 4181 MR Update!

fluciani, have you tried to revive the device using an autoloader OS file?




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎07-19-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10
My Carrier: Movistar

Re: Z10 Stopped Working after updating to 4181 MR Update!

Hi JSanders

I downloaded the New OS but nothing happend. I even filmed the whole proceidure just in case you want to see it and tell me if i am missing something

Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎07-19-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10
My Carrier: Movistar

Re: Z10 Stopped Working after updating to 4181 MR Update!

I have one question:

when the information pops up " connecting to bootrom:

1) press the off switch for 10 Seconds on my BB

2) do nothing and wait until something happens

With option 1) a very quick image comes up, like trying to load someting but if you capture the image, at the end says

Error: failed to load image

Error: Security error

With option 2 the prompt is at the bootrom and has been for one hour already and nothing has happed.

 

My question is: what option is the correct

 

Posts: 90,333
Likes: 23,925
Solutions: 6,163
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Z10 Stopped Working after updating to 4181 MR Update!


fluciani wrote:

I have one question:

when the information pops up " connecting to bootrom:

1) press the off switch for 10 Seconds on my BB  NO, do not do this. Who told you to do that? Follow the instructions in the thread I wrote.

2) do nothing and wait until something happens


 


 




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎07-19-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10
My Carrier: Movistar

Re: Z10 Stopped Working after updating to 4181 MR Update!

Thanks for your replay

You wrote: 

  1. Locate the downloaded file and run the autoloader (double click on the EXE file) and a black DOS window appears indicating "Connecting to bootrom". The DOS window processes the install, and begins to load the OS. If you have a security passwored, you will be asked to enter it.
  2. In my case once the black DOS windows and the connecting to bootrom appears, nothing happened for two hours so i wonder if i had to do something else.
  3. is there an indication that something is working or i should just leave my pc an phone hooked until it does the magic.